We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly best hotel in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Possibly best hotel in Waikiki”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. The customer service here is amazing, and the employees working at the front desk speak perfect English. They were very thorough in explaining everything and did everything they can to help accommodate us. Will definitely come back to this hotel! The location is great because it's about 5-10 minutes walking distance to the beautiful Waikiki beach. The rooms are very clean and spacious, which is very important to me. The staff are all very friendly, and it's just a lovely place to stay at. Not to mention they offer valet parking for a very affordable and reasonable price. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearls1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    556
    259
    61
    48
See reviews for
327
304
134
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So. Cal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Budget friendly
Mini-fridge in room
Short walk to Waikiki Beach
Laminate floors
Decent room size
Quick valet
Air conditioned rooms

Cons
We were on 4th floor - lots of street noise.
Old
Lack of quality bath amenities (budget)
Extremely firm and uncomfortable beds
Horrible service in bar (I had to go find a menu - and then we waited without anyone even acknowledging us for over 15 minutes - they were not busy - so we left).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank luv2btravln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bregenz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If your visiting Honolulu, this is the best hotel to stay. I was there in 2008 and 2013. The rooms were clean, the bar and restaurant in the evening very good. You can meet a lot of locals there.

If you have a car, you have only valet parking so plan in the extra costs. Waikiki Beach isn't far away (5 - 10 min. on foot). You have an ABC-Store on the next corner and a Denny's isn't far away.

I'm planning on returning again in November.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors (8 and up). You'll have a wonderful scenery and you won't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie_220263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First trip to Hawaii, and accommodation selected by a member of our group, based on a previous stay. Was a great choice. Rooms were generous in size, clean and tidy. I had two queen size beds in my room so lots of space for me and to spread out my shopping purchases.

Staff very friendly. Great restaurant with standard menu and drinks. Not 5 star, but not needed. A reasonable meal and good selection of drinks is all we were after, after a day out on the beach or at the shops. Centrally located so within walking distance to both.

Made good use of the free wi-fi. Big plus! They also have a laundromat available which was very helpful.

Best of all, it is very reasonably priced, and you get a discount for returning, which we did before and after our cruise. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, so did not have any noise issues as others have said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manaia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights from June 30 - July 5th this year. We wanted somewhere that wasn't going to cost an arm and a leg but be close enough for us to walk around Waikiki. We didn't know what to expect on arrival but were pleasantly surprised. We had opted to stay in one of their villas at the back of the hotel beside the pool. Dbl/dbl with a kitchenette, spacious with a couch too. We were on the second level and had a nice view of the pool. However underneath our room - which we would have appreciated someone telling us, was a bar open from 6 til 2 am. This can get LOUD! I made a complaint the first night. The room was clean and everyday after house keeping were great. The pool was a great draw for us since we are traveling with our three year old, however in saying that the pool isn't very deep - if my memory serves me well it was only 5ft at its deepest, so not so great for us. Since we had a kitchenette we only had breakfast in the hotel once, and we didn't rate it highly, but there are plenty of other options close by. There is only valet parking, no other options, most of the time they are quick and friendly but there was times when they were very slow, you feel like you need to rush in and out of your car too as it is only a single lane driveway.
Within walking distance there was a little market with heaps of local fresh fruit and home baked food, very delicious! There was also a restaurant down one block that did an all you can eat buffet dinner with a show for a very reasonable price!
Reception were very friendly and helpful but the lady at the tour desk when i called and asked about 4th of July fireworks could tell me nothing.
The hotel is undergoing renovations in the lobby which was a bit messy but it has already enhanced the entry of the hotel greatly.
We would most likely stay here again because of the location, size of the room and price.

Room Tip: If staying in a villa ask to have a room away from the bar, unless that's your scene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kel_horch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the second time I visited and stayed at this hotel.
The staff are friendly and helpful. They helped me with getting back to the airport and organized a shuttle and were happy to organize a taxi when the shuttle was running late and then cancel that for me when the shuttle arrived.
I used my discount voucher for return stay.
I had a corner room with a good view and all that I needed - it wasn't poky but gave me a good amount of room and free wifi.
It was in walking distance from everything I wanted to see and to the trolley stop.
I would definitely return here on my next visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the corner with golf course views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Usually stay at one of the hotels on or across the road from the beach but decided to try this one. Very good. Clean, quiet, friendly staff and only about a 5 min walk to the beach. Has a great big pool and spa in a very quiet leafy surround. There were works being done to the restaurant down on the ground floor but it did not impact us in any way with noise or dust etc. Will look great when finished. So a good stay in a good location that is worth the savings.

Room Tip: We went for one of the rooms on the top few floors and they still have a great view of the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,838 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
935 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
622 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing