We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

My wife picked out this hotel based on review on Internet, it turns out this is one of the best hotels I have even been. Great breakfast, fabulous decor, in fact, not a single decor or paintings on the wall, simplely let the scenic views speaks for itself.

I love Janpanese way of simplicity. I just love it, will go back again with family.....

There's is also live music pm, a lot of wedding over there. The location is great. Guests are polite, and no screaming kids running around, even there are quite bit Japanese kids around.

Lov

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiKevin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    461
    152
    52
    38
See reviews for
650
1,192
66
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Halekulani met all of our expectations and more. Friendly and helpful staff all around the resort. That doesn't just include the Concierges, who were always helpful and kind whenever we had a question, but also the front desk (probably one of the easiest check outs ever), the doormen, the pool staff and people just wandering around the resort. Even security are friendly and kind.

As for the rooms, they are wonderful, spacious refurbished rooms with clean, modern appliances. I imagine that you would have wonderful views from most rooms in the hotel as it overlooks the beach from both sides.

There is a small beach just in front of the hotel which is clean and has plenty of room, meanwhile the pool is a good size with staff that will look after you all day.

Obviously the Halekulani is a little more expensive than other resorts, but you get what you pay for here, first class service and rooms.

Just a couple of comments; I think that the beds are good - not excellent like the rest of the resort - but perhaps this is something the Halekulani might consider looking at in the future. They were a little too soft for our liking.

Also, the Spa is very overpriced. My girlfriend had a one hour massage treatment and paid $220 for that; and apparently only had 40-45 minutes of an actual massage. The quality was OK.

Thank you to the staff at the Halekulani for making our stay so comfortable and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Room with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at Halekulani last week for 4 days. I had heard great
things about this hotel so my anticipation was high. Unfortunately our
experience was not very good. We had an ocean front room which was blocked on
one side by the massive Sheraton hotel and on other side by hundreds of rooms
with balcony and zero privacy. Sitting on balcony felt like whole world is
watching you. The room as as small as it can get, old furniture. Closet opens up
from bathroom and bedroom, a strange set up. Only one small sink in bathroom. It
seems mattress was years old and springs were gone. We called and it was
replaced by a nice firm mattress. Sink did
not drain and so we called to have that fixed but problem remained. Safe
malfunctioned 3 times. We were told our room had a soft renovation. Amazing a
hotel which charged us $700 plus each day left all these issues alone. All this
happened within 3 hours of our arrival. We requested a change to even a lower
category room like an ocean view room, we were told nicely that it will be done
but it never happened despite my meeting their manager on duty twice a day. It
seems management is very polite but not interested in keeping customers happy.
There is no bar area outside near the pool. In the evening we had to sit in
outside restaurant to get drinks served. Restaurant food was very good but we had to
wait for 30 minutes though we had reservation. In summary, a very disappointing
stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are probably better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ravi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Heavenly Hotel right on beach with the city behind you. You cannot beat the luxury and tranquility at Haulikulani. Once you walk in off the beach or from the city you are taken miles away into a sophisticated oasis that is unmatched in Oahu. It’s not cheap by any means but if you are looking for first class with unmatched service this is the place. Celeb’s like it because it’s low key and nobody care who you are. Everyone here is here to enjoy and relax. Restaurants are also unmatched. Best Mai-Tai in the world is at the house without a key restaurant by pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is close to Kalakaua Street, the main shopping street of Honolulu, only 5 mintues away. The rooms were renovated a few years ago so they are quite new overall. The check in lobby seems a bit simple and small given the class of the hotel. They don't even have a chair in the lobby for guests. The lifts for guest rooms is in such a way that I thought it was a cargo lift and not sure if it is for guests.

But once inside the room it is a whole different world. It is new and decent. The lanai is side facing the beach, with a lounge chair, a chair and a tea table. My room included a tea table, stool, a writing desk and a sofa. Bathroom is spacious, with separate shower and bathtub. The back of the wardrobe is interesting that it is infact a sliding door that open the way into the bathroom.

I would rate the service of the hotel to be excellent. I asked for some toiletry from housekeeping and they delivered to my room, then I let go of the door thinking that it would shut by itself. It didn't. After some minutes a hotel staff knocked on my door and asked me to shut the door. Then after about half an hour a hotel technician came to fix the door closers. I was impressed with such service and attitude.

Orchids, the breakfast restaurant is by the pool and the lawn. The service is excellent, food is fine. The pool is not big, as in the case of most hotels on Waikiki. There is a small strip of pedestrian way beside the hotel lawn where quite many people walking all the time, so it is kind of busy most of the time. The beach attached to the hotel is relatively small, so if the guests wanted to swim on the beach, this is not a perfect choice.

I came across a few couples having their wedding in the hotel and I agree that it is a wise choice to choose this hotel for wedding.

If you are looking for a decent hotel on Waikiki, this is probably the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Loved this hotel. Had a room high up overlooking the pool and ocean....Lots of sun, very clean. Staff very friendly. Great location to see everything.

Room Tip: Opt for a ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nookinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

“Absolute paradise! When we didn’t feel like splashing around in the waves we easily walked back to huge pool to relax in the lounge chairs. The staff are so warm and inviting; we fancied a round of golf and the concierge helped set up a tee time at one of the most beautiful courses on the island. Golfers and beach lovers will thrive in this oceanside destination that offers exclusive access to some of the premier courses on Oahu. Also, a beautiful backdrop for a wedding.”

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,852 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing