We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Befitting Heaven!”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

You don't stay at the Halekulani for beach access or for any other mediocre purpose.this is a leading hotel of the world for a reason. Opulent and sumptuous atmosphere but warm and homey at the same time, the Halakulani specialises in treating each guest as a welcome family member. We loved the surprises at the nightly turndown and also all the invitations to attend cocktails with the manager, afternoon tea and performances.... I absolutely advise you to Join LHW - Leading Hotels of the world before you go. The membership cost is $150 per year but the benefits are huge- back fast for two each day, invitations to private gatherings and the service just improves because there is an extra incentive for staff to ensure you have a great time. We booked a partial ocean view - beautiful, but the LHW membership also guarantees a room upgrade on arrival so again, it can't be beaten. We just LOVED our stay and will return in another year to do it all again! Also don't miss out on dining at La Mer- to say it is stunning is really missing the point. It is an experience for your stomach, your soul and your well being. We dined in all of the restaurants and found them all great - I have a craze on fresh pineapple now! The Lewers Lounge was a pleasant surprise - a real jazz club with entertainment that was world class. You won't see the type of screaming drunkards you'd find at The Outrigger next door or the Aussie Bogans you now find down the road at the Moana Surfrider - that's what happens when a hotel is featured on Hone& Away! You will also really enjoy the proximity to all the shops and the fact that the Concierge will arrange everything for you at your convenience - including tours and trips out to the Waikelefrom Premium Outlet! Our verdict on the Halakulani? HEAVEN !

Room Tip: Join the LHW at lhw.com and save as you get an upgrade!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
There are newer reviews for Halekulani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

Fourth time staying at the Halekulani, and it has only gotten better. The rooms have been renovated to an understated perfection. Muted relaxing colours on walls, floors and furniture . The bathrooms are immaculate and bright with seperate shower from the tub. The food at the "House Without a Key" is still good with varied selections however there is a definite lack of any "specialty" foods such as gluten free. The pool is the best in Waikiki with plenty of lounge chairs. The only suggestion is that their "Boutique" could be a little better stocked. But then it is a very short walk to markets and shopping. Great location with excellent views of ocean and Diamond Head depending on your room choice. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Concierge arranges everything taking all the fuss out of arrangements. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, get a room in the Tower facing Diamond Head.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauimadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The BEST hotel in Oahu, fantastic rooms, service, location. The Halekulani never disappoints. Friendly, caring service. I've been staying here for 12 years and it has really become a second home. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff that make the halekulani above all the rest

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avalon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Have been from D.C. to Australia,Japan and all of Europe but when it comes to service and friendliness and desire to please their guests no one is better than the Halekulani hotel on Hawaii on the island of Oahu!! The sunset is unreal, food excellent view super but the service sets it apart!!! Can't wait to go back and now live in Fort Lauderdale!! From the time you pull in till you leave expect nothing but their best!! Thank you Halekulani for a great 8 days

Room Tip: All rooms are good with a super view and pool views we liked the best
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coach3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We were married in October this year at The Halekulani and also stayed at the hotel. You could not fault the service provided by our catering manager Loren and the rest of her staff- everything was perfect! Location-wise it's right in the heart of Waikiki - which is perfect for hitting the beach, shops, restaurants and if you have family friends staying elsewhere (loads of places nearby to choose from)

The room was beautiful and guide large - good for getting ready. It looked over the pool an ocean.they have everything you need there including bat, restaurant, spa, business centre etc.

We can't wait to go back for an anniversary soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keen_traveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Halekulani for 7 days in September and had a fantastic week. Apart from the hotel location which is first rate the service at this hotel is, by far, the best service we have ever had at any hotel anywhere in the world. A warm rather than hot dinner at one of the restaurants saw a refusal to charge us for our meal and wine, a request about information from my wife on cosmetics saw a call back from reception with location and a pricelist, my wife mislaid her PJs and she was given some free of charge....just some of the service provided without question as was a refusal to charge for local calls.
A great property with lovely facilities, access to the beach and uncrowded pool area. Unbeatable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The upsides - Great location, views from room, food and staff service is impeccable.

Downsides - I think for the rooms it is expensive but its location is what you are paying for. The pool is small, loungers are at a premium and rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £443 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing