We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST hotel in Hawaii”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“THE BEST hotel in Hawaii”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A year before this trip, my fiancé and I decided to go to Hawaii, I researched every hotel in Waikiki and thought I was sure about Kahala, that was until I started reading reviews on TA and the all advised that if you want pure luxury then Halekulani is the place. My fiancé was hung up on the expense but as this was going to be a one-off splurge, I convinced him to go for it!. Well, we fell totally in love with Halekulani and couldn't have chosen a better hotel, worth every single penny. So much so, that last year we made the long trip from Northern Ireland to take my parents to experience the Hawaii and of course the Halekulani!. I did ask my fiancé where he wanted to stay this time and he said he would NOT stay anywhere else!. Forget the cost!

As we pulled up to the hotel, the door was graciously opened and the staff member said Welcome to the Halekulani Miss Anderson! How was your flight from Las Vegas Wow, impressed!! The bags were whisked away to the rooms and check-in was completed by the fantastic Jerome, who throughout our stay helped us, answered our questions and made us feel very welcome. He is a major asset to Halekulani.

This hotel is serene. calm and beautiful, you are in the centre of Waikiki with restaurants, bar, Waikiki beach and fabulous shops (Tiffany's, Macys etc) on your doorstep yet the hotel is quiet and relaxing. The pool area is perfect with great attendants to help you with your sunlounger. Each night there was a lovely little present left on our bed at turndown, the rooms were pretty, bright and clean.

We were lucky enough to have both breakfast and brunch at Orchids which were both out of this world with regards to food, setting, atmosphere and especially service. Our particular waiter Aga, was outstanding. He was polite and there exactly when you need him without being intrusive, each time we got up to go to the buffet he had the table cleared and brushed!, before we returned with another course!.

There are regular weddings happening at this hotel but they are small and do not interfere with any aspect of your stay, in my opinion they actually add to the whole atmosphere and you can see why people would want to celebrate such a happy occasion in these surroundings. Also, the manager holds a little evening on one of the terraces during the week which serves complimentary food and drinks looking over Waikiki Beach at Sunset.

The Halekulani employs lovely people who understand the true meaning of customer service and are always friendly, polite and willing to help. The Halekulani has given us wonderful memories that will stay with us forever. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5starUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,805
    468
    156
    52
    39
See reviews for
665
1,207
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My fifth trip to Hawaii and my partner's second. For the first time we decided to explore Oahu and find a hotel in Honolulu. We did a lot of research and found only two or perhaps three hotels in the true five-star category. On several recommendations from friends we settled on the Halekulani. This is a beautiful, well located hotel, with a gorgeous lobby and common area, a nice spa, and nice, albeit austere, guest rooms (we took a Diamond Head Suite). The area shopping is perfect, with all the high end brands as well as local shops just steps away. The hotel hosts many weddings, which is perhaps one of the reasons for its MAJOR drawback:

It is formal and full of rules that hamper your relaxing vacation experience. Don't come here expecting island-causal, lounging in flip-flops, taking a drink at a pool bar and strolling with that drink back to your room. The hotel has strict rules: No carrying drinks from a bar to your room; there is no pool bar you can sit at (only table service) and no "bar" open until 6:00 pm, and that one is an indoor, wood-paneled, formal one (beautiful, by the way, like you'd see in a New York business-oriented restaurant) where the guests are expected to be dressed the same; it closes at 1:00 am, however, we saw at least one couple refused service at 12:25 am, saying "sorry we've already had 'last call'; and pack some dress slacks and business shirts because--get this--the hotel's restaurant doesn't any permit jeans you might have, no matter how nice they are. We made reservations at the hotel restaurant and were walking to our dinner when a hotel employee stopped us saying ah, ah, ah.. "if you're going to the restaurant you'll need dress slacks." My girl was in a Roberto Cavalli dress she bought for the trip, Christian Louboutin shoes--both sexy and informal--and I was in brand-new Kiton Jeans, a designer silk shirt, and leather Gucci slip-ons that were suitable for any boardroom. No soap--we weren't "properly attired," as I had on jeans. No business casual for your Hawaiian vacation here! Steve Jobs could run the largest company in the world in nice jeans, but he couldn't get a meal at the Halekulani's restaurant dressed that way. To add insult to injury, the hotel then directed us off-property to a Denny's-style Thai restaurant a good walk from the hotel. My date was insulted, and with good reason.

A very nice hotel manager listened patiently to my complaints, sympathized, but confessed there was little he could do. He called Nobu at a "sister property" and asked if our "poor-man's" attire would be okay, and nicely informed me that the coast was clear--we could eat there in jeans. Good grief. This is a vacation destination?

Finally, if you figure, well we'll just be casual with a drink in the room from the minibar, sorry, no minibar. They took them all out, a hotel employee informed us. You'll have to call room service even to order a Mai Tai or a glass of wine; and room service is quite slow--about 35 minutes for two drinks.

This hotel appears to have a dedicated clientele and for good reason: It's nice. But it is NOT relaxing, and it is not the place to go to experience island casual and have a relaxing vacation where you leave your formal clothes for the office back home.

Room Tip: If you're all packed with a business clothes and ready for a vacation at Halekulani, ask for a D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dantes910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Halekulani is the best hotel in Waikiki; we have stayed at a lot of the hotels in Waikiki and this place is special. Service is attentive yet unrushed; food was very good and the property is beautiful. We hadn't stayed before but would be happy to return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtovancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A lovely fresh modern hotel, with a very relaxed friendly feel but also has a island opulence about it. The staff could not be more helpful from concierge to restaurant to room staff to bell boys.
Fantastic location!!!! I cant wait to get back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beautiful rooms with extraordinary views. Outstanding service and great restaurants. The actual beachfront unfortunately is extremely small and very limited, presumably from long term erosion. Excellent entertainment and location, proximate to lots of downtown activities. Almost certainly one of the best hotels in Honolulu. A truly unique and very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

An amazing hotel experience. A tranquil haven in the heart of Waikiki with beach front access. The service is outstanding, the rooms are stunning and the view is spectacular. The hotel manages to keep a sense of calm and well being amongst the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. While the hotel is child friendly there are no specific activities for children and they are asked to keep the noise down and not disturb other people. The pool is large and inviting with plenty of room for all. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. The rooms are light, airy and spacious. The hotel is surrounded by excellent restaurants and shops. This is my third stay at this glorious property and I am already looking forward to visiting again. As the name suggests it really is a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

A truly special place. As soon as you arrive you are treated like a honored guest.The rooms are beautiful and the restaurants are some of the best in WAikiki.The help remember your name and take pride in their work.I would only stay here when visiting Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing