We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and paradise - a gem on Waikiki Beach”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxury and paradise - a gem on Waikiki Beach”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My friend, myself and our daughters had an opportunity to spend 3 nights at the Halekulani. It is quite honestly the most elegant and well-designed hotel ever. The rooms are slightly small and definitely built for 2, but they cram so many amenities in those rooms, that you almost don't notice the somewhat smaller space. All of the public spaces, restaurants, shops fit the elegant but non-pretentious feel of the hotel. It is high priced compared to other hotels nearby, but worth it for a few days for once in a lifetime pampering.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaneira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    466
    155
    52
    38
See reviews for
653
1,200
66
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is an oasis on the crazy busy strip of Waikiki Beach. Once you step into the lobby, it is peaceful and beautiful. The service is excellent. Our room was a Diamond Suite, 7th floor, great view and very clean and spacious. Restaurants are wonderful, and its a good thing to be able to skip the crappy Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs options outside. The pool is great, and its a good thing because the only draw back is the lack of beach. The strip has plenty, but it is crowded and noisy. Not my thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luckybay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Halekulani truly lives up to its Hawaiian name - "house befitting heaven". From the moment you check in to the moment the valet staff wave you off, you truly feel like you've stayed in paradise. The hotel's service is truly exceptional - every staff member greets you by name and no detail is too small or insignificant. Every night, there was a surprise little gift with the turn down and bottled water is constantly replenished in the small in-room fridge. My husband and sons forgot their shaving toiletries so a whole week's supply, complimentary, was sent up to our rooms minutes after we asked about it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and SO clean. The bathrooms are supplied with just about everything you would need on vacation. The pool area is beautiful and around noon everyday, staff come around with complimentary nibbles for all guests lounging in the pool area. There is also a larger cooler of flavored water and sunscreen for the guests. The location is perfect and everything seems within walking distance. We also booked surfing lessons through the hotel with the Ty Gurney Surf school. The instructors waited for my kids at the hotel's beach and started lessons right there. The Sunday brunch at the hotel's Orchids restaurant is one of the best we experienced, anywhere. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loropiana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The Halukalani, where I'm currently staying, is delightful. The service is incredible, I mean they don't have ice machines because they don't approve of anything self service. The staff quite friendly and very attentive to any request you may have. I could go for an hour, but I'd rather go to the beach now! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Enjoyed our 6th stay. Buffet breakfast at House without a Key is very good; dinner at Orchids was excellent. Service throughout the hotel is its trademark and remains excellent.
The Manager's Reception on Wed. evening has substantially declined in quality over the years.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobekuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just returned from a stay at the Halekulani - our second stay. We loved it, again! Service is excellent, and I am not sure they do it but the hotel manages to keep the real hustle and bustle of Waikiki at bay. The hotel is quiet. Of course, there is a more mature guest usually staying at the hotel - not a bunch of party animals, but I noticed many families and younger couples like my husband and I. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and without fail, every staff member at breakfast, the pool, drinks, dinner, etc said happy birthday to my husband. It was a nice touch! I would not stay anywhere else than at the Halekulani when staying on Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall, I would say this hotel was a disappointment. I had always wanted to stay at the Halekulani and had heard many favourable reports of the supposedly legendary service. Initially I was impressed because an email was sent to me a few weeks before my trip requesting various particulars to help staff get to know me better. I was also asked to provide my arrival time. So when I arrived at the hotel at approximately 8pm there was not a porter in sight. We got out of our car and made our own way to the lobby carrying numerous suitcases up the steps. Eventually a porter arrived but only offered to help me (maybe because I am a women, the guys didn't get a look in). Definitely not a pleasant first impression. Check in was not really friendly and more perfunctory. They were quite disorganised...and asked a few times for our names. My friends were in the tower directly behind reception whereas I was in another tower and was only told to walk down the hallway and turn left. Eventually I found where I was meant to go but was disappointed in the lack of personal service. When I got into my room I was a bit disappointed. I know the hotel had recently been refurbished but I couldn't believe that this tired looking room was the refurbished room. Some pros include that the room size itself was quite big with a king bed and a small sofa, very comfortable bed and lovely sheets, balcony was a very good size and I had a beautiful view of the ocean. Some cons in terms of the room were that the bathroom only had a single sink with limited space for toiletries, bath was deep but not long so definitely not one to linger in and the shower was very compact and water pressure not very strong. I also found it difficult to work the tv. One other negative was that the lights went on automatically in ether cupboard but took a while to turn off when the doors were closed which was annoying when I wanted to go to sleep.

In terms of the restaurants I was not able to get an evening drink at House Without a Key in the three nights I was there as it was packed by the time I got there at around 630pm. There was a queue of about twenty people one night and I was told I could go across the road for a drink. That was pretty disappointing given I was a hotel guest that I couldn't even get a drink in the hotel I was staying at. The buffet breakfast I found disappointing and limited in variety. Certainly not up to five star standard.

Hotel staff did not go out of their way to assist and seemed uninterested. Concierge and front desk staff were particularly disappointing.

The public areas being were beautiful and smelt incredible - very fresh - and there was a beautiful breeze. Location was great in terms of shopping as it as near Lewers Street and the main shopping street. In terms of beach, although the hotel is ocean front there was not really any beach in don't of the hotel. The pool looked quite beautiful though.

Guests should note that there is a dress code enforced throughout this hotel particularly in here evenings, this didn't bother me as I love to get dressed up.

In summary, I would not stay at the Halekulani again as I do not think it represents good value for $500+ a night for a standard room. Comparing other hotels in Waikiki that I have stayed at, I would say Trump has far better service, but lacks the ambience of the Halekulani but the Surfrider beats both hands down. It has a better position on the beach compared to the Halekulani and has a more relaxed vibe plus I never got turned away from the Beach Bar because it was full.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing