We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Spectacular views, well maintained grounds with superb service. Our family had a wonderful but short stay. We can't wait to return and have booked reservations for 2015 already. We enjoyed our time there so much that we didn't even leave the property. Now that says a lot especially with kids.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andwill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    470
    158
    52
    39
See reviews for
675
1,217
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with family. The experience was superb. Service was top-level everywhere - friendly valets who remember your name and greet you with smiles, efficient front desk, extremely friendly housekeeping, high level of service by waiters/waitresses (Room with a Key, Orchids, and especially La Mer).

Rooms were spacious and layout was good. The hotel is not new, and you can tell, but the rooms are clean and maintained very well. Beds are comfortable and bathroom lay out is good (shower stall is on the small side).

We had ocean view rooms - while you can see the ocean, you need to look at an angle - if you can, try to get ocean front - I think the experience will be even better.

Pool was nice - water temperature not too cold nor warm. If you want good seats by the pool with shade, go early to reserve your space (perhaps 6am - staff are there from 4am).

One thing that can be improved is the wi-fi - it is rather slow and connections weak in some areas.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and believe this to be one of the best hotels in Oahu.

Room Tip: Ocean front, higher floor would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We returned to the Halekulani and it was improved from our previous visit. A year earlier, we had stayed and the pool was so cold that we could not use it. Whatever the problem was then, it was fixed this time. The pool was very pleasant. We were also able to have the signature massage at the spa and eat at both La Mer and Orchids (for Sunday brunch). Rooms are comfortable, location is hard to beat, and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timo123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

No hotel in Waikiki can compare to the Halekulani in quality of service, ambiance, and overall experience. The rooms are a little small but make up for it with awesome views and appointments. The staff are fully attentive and responsive. The House Without a Key next to Waikiki Beach is great for casual dining and has wonderful Hawaiian music at sunset. Dining at the Orchids restaurant along the beach as you watch the sunset and the view of Diamond Head is a memorable way to enjoy a special meal. Few can afford it but if you want a special experience, this is the place to stay when in Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved this place. It is kind of historic, kind of old, kind of classic 70's thing feeling.
The room was nice, clean, the view was ok. It is Waikiki so get a room a few floors up for the noise. The store was expensive if you want drinks, snacks whatever so hit a grocery store . But have a cocktail at the bar around sunset you are in Hawaii!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great place lovely rooms nothing too much effort for super helpful staff
Stay and enjoy city on beach
Rent a car and explore let them do it all for you
They know all the best excursions

Evening drinks as sun sets with great Hawaiian music and hula dancer
Food at beach restaurant orchid really special

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having been a 20+ year guest, my review is admittedly a bit biased.

My family made our annual visit to this "Heaven On Earth" during Hurricane Iselle. Setting aside the usual accolades and superlatives one would usually bestow on this property's amazing service and attentiveness, we were absolutely amazed at the level of preparation the hotel went through to ensure guests' experience is not disrupted. Here are the specifics.

1. Check-in / Valet. One of the most amazing things about this place is that each and every time we have been here, the bags would show up at precisely the same time we are escorted to our room(s). BTW, check-in is conducted in the rooms, not at the front-desk. What a civilized way of welcoming people to such a wonderful place.

2. Meals. Morning breakfasts are served at House Without A Key (buffet) or Orchid (full-service menu) daily. The kids prefer buffet so we have gotten to know some of the staff pretty well over the years. One of their team members even gave us her cell and home phone, offering to host us if we are stranded by the Hurricane later that week. Such encounter is but one of the many similar personable experiences we have shared with their staff over the last 20+ years.

3. Housekeeping. One of the most amazing things about this place is that somehow, housekeeping always manages to complete their duties during the time we are out of the room, no matter the length of our absence. Moreover, the incredible mess our teenagers created in their room is always straightened out daily. This is by far the hardest working group of employees I have run across from my 3+ million miles of travels.

4. Amenities. Though the hotel is quite pricey, many amenities are included. For example, the hotel offers free access to many museums in town (e.g. the Iolani Palace guided tour alone would run us in excess of $100). The exercise room also offers bananas, fruits, and bottled water. Oh, did I mention the great ocean view directly in front of the elliptical and treadmill machines?

They also offer free yoga and other exercise classes daily on the property.

Concierge consists of a group of super friendly and knowledgeable folks who can give you the inside scoops on whatever/wherever you need to visit on Oahu. We wanted to try a hike this time and they went out of their way to print direction for us, but to also check the weather to ascertain how muddy the hike would be.

5. Misc. Lastly, the hotel invites all guests to a manager's reception each Wednesday evening. Though the food is okay, consisting of mostly small bites, they do have a complementary open bar as well as a dozen or so roaming staffs taking drink orders. It is a great opportunity to meet some of their management staff. A not to miss event at this hotel.

Overall, this is a perfect 10 stay. I would rate this property over that of Maui Four Seasons, Grand Wailea, and Kapalua's Ritz (all properties I have visited).

Room Tip: Stay in the main building -- closer to the pool and valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing