We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking is too expensive, but everything else is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything about the Double Tree Alana was nice except that only valet parking is available and they charge $30 a day to park (plus valet tips). The service was truly outstanding. The Front Desk went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as pleasureable as possible. They offered input on what places were best visit and even called on our behalf to purchase tickets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha Adrian,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our outstanding team members. We make sure to price ourselves in accordance with other hotel valet options and hope you find the overall value our hotel to meet the expectations of service you deserve.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

very pleasant stay, great staff, food was excellent, the cookies they provide on arrival were very good and warm, hotel was very clean, Hotel is close to shopping, and Food establishments, though a good walk from the beach, still worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha Margaret,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found our location to be convenient for shopping, the beach and restaurant options. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for visiting us!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Place was very disappointing. The rooms are just to small as well as the TINY fridge. Enjoy the cookies because that will be the highlight of your stay in this hotel. You also need to like city noise and traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha David,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet up to the high standards you should expect at a Hilton brand hotel. We hope you visit us again so we may have another chance to exceed your expectations. Please do contact us directly at dtsaleshawaii@hilton.com when you have a chance.

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Michelle at the front desk was GREAT; a real pleasure. Beds were soft and we were in the middle of everything. The bathroom was very swank and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank kena k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha Kena K,

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us! Michelle is definitely a pleasure to work with and we are so appreciative that you highlighted her here. Please do visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Recently renovated hotel with modern decor. Not a bad walk to the beach. One time on the way back from the beach I cut through the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street, and was really happy I stayed here instead. Too much hubbub over there! Breakfast was good, especially the baked goods. You won't find a cellophane-wrapped Danish here! No free wifi in the rooms is a drawback. Awesome black-out curtains allow you to sleep even though it's very bright outside (while you're recovering from jetlag, adjusting to time zones etc).

Room Tip: Ten dollar coupon in the restaurant, Trees, if you skip maid service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_camper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha happer_camper0,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed the comfort and personalized experience of our property. We hope to see you again soon and mahalo (thank you) again for your review!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff were very nice but I think most people in Hawaii are very friendly. We were greeted with yummy cookies and smiles every morning. Our boys loved the experience and can't wait to come back. The room was clean and we had a nice view of the fireworks on New Year's Eve. We walked to the beach most days and loved that it's close to the Hilton Village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Aloha Steph W,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I see that you visited us at the end of last year; we hope you are coming back again this New Year! If so, you will notice a few updates since you last visited such as new pool furniture and an outdoor herb garden.

Your review is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The service was outstanding, the staff were so accommodating nothing was too much trouble. This contrasts with our experience in other hotels during our month long US holiday. For example when we arrived (10.30am) some rooms were ready and they were happy for us to check in immediately. When we were leaving they gave us a late checkout no problem and allowed us to use the business centre after we had checked out at no cost and to use the beach towels for an afternoon swim. The beds were comfy and the sheets and pillows were excellent quality. This is the first time in 40 years of using hotels that I've asked for the duty manager in order to compliment him on the quality of service we had received. The hotel is not beach front but is really well located close to beach shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: Ocean views are nice, it's not ocean front but it's only a 10 minute walk to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Aloha Michael m,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family here to our property. We enjoy caring for you and truly appreciate you sharing your experience. Please do come back to visit us soon!

Warmest Regards,

Sandy Narvaez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
738 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,649 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £128 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing