We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“First Time”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel staff very welcoming. Lower lobby was cramped and the elevators and hallways somewhat tight. Small dining area for breakfast buffet and food quality could have been a little better. Service wasn't fantastic, could have done with some more staff on restaurant floor. Having said that it was high season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    540
    319
    117
    57
See reviews for
357
341
112
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This review comes a few months late as I stayed in this property in early November 2013.
While it would be easy for me to just forget about penning my reviews, I just didn't feel it would be fair as I had a very good stay at this hotel.

The hotel is along Ala Moana and at the start of the main shopping area - Kalakaua Avenue.
An easy 10-15mins stroll and you'll get to stores like VS, Sephora, Cheesecake Factory etc.
Tony Romas is right across the street (less than 5 mins away) and there is a burger cafe right next to the hotel's front door.
(Bear in mind the stretch of Kalakaua Ave is pretty long, so if the store you want happens to be located at the other end of Kalakaua, then it won't take just 10-15mins. But, you get the idea.)

If you prefer not to walk to the main shopping street, there are several tourist trolleys/buses that ply the Ala Moana - Kalakaua route. But these are chargeable.
If you walk towards the Hilton Hawaiian village (7-12mins stroll away, going the opposite direction, away from Kalakaua), I believe there is a free shuttle bus service from there that takes you to the DFS Galleria. And that's located smack in the centre of the shopping area - Kalakaua. (This free shuttle makes a loop, that's why you have to walk away from Kalakaua, even though that might be your destination.)
Otherwise, most trolley buses charge a free of $2, one-way.
The receptionists should have a clearer idea of which buses to take and from where, depending on where you want to go.
There is no Concierge services here, so the Receptionists double up as your Concierges.

Waikiki beach is again a simple 10-15 stroll away.

The hotel itself is pretty modern and updated. Bell services is located on the ground level, facing a sort of military space (I think it's called Fort Derussy.)

The main reception is located on level 2. At check-in, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Director of Front Office himself doing the check-ins, along with his subordinates. I used to work in the hotel industry and to have someone from top management doing the actual work alongside the rank and file isn't something that happens often.

3 of us stayed in a junior suite and found the room to be of a comfortable size. There was enough space for us to put 2 big suitcases and 3 cabin bags.
Bathroom was again, of a nice size.
No problems with noise even though our room faced the main street.

As far as I know, wifi is chargeable but there is a business centre next to Reception, for use should you need to log onto the internet for a quick booking or checking-in for flights.

Staff were all very friendly and in particular, Al from Bell Desk deserves to be mentioned. He was very knowledgeable regarding what buses to take and from where, and even advised me not to go to a particular museum as I might not have enough time to enjoy the museum properly. He then proceeded to suggest what to do with the remainder of my 5 hours of free time.

I didn't use the gym or the pool facilities as we were out at the museums or hitting the shops most days.

Overall, a really good stay here. Will MOST definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is way overpriced. The location is ok, but there is little to commend the place. Long walk to the beach and hotel facilities are tired. Staff was friendly though. Charged a lot for internet access so I went to starbucks. My wife almost made us move to another hotel, but the room charge was too high to sacrifice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffpilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years Eve. The hotel is not on the beach but it's within walking distance and close to the main shopping & dining areas. The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. The bathroom needed a bit more lighting but was large enough. We also had a balcony but weren't in the room long enough to use it. My only issue was the service at breakfast. There were often large lines of people waiting for a seat and the staff weren't very attentive. I also think extra tables could be fit into the room at the far end to accommodate more diners. If you are hungry, it's worth paying the extra $7 for the full breakfast where the chef cooks you omelettes how you like them. The valet staff were great and our car was always brought around straight away. I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine as this can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida, usa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Doubletree was okay for a stopover on our way to Australia. The hotel is not in the middle of Waikiki insanity, so it was much quieter than hotels right on the beach. And much less expensive. I ALWAYS ask for a room on a high floor, away from the elevator. I was given a nice room, and it was virtually noise-free.
The service was very good, and the choc. chip cookies are wonderful!
There are several cafes and restaurants in the area, and we found a 24-hour cafe a few blocks away. Their breakfast was excellent.
We enjoyed our stay here, and will return when we visit Honolulu again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The first room was actually dirty with some trash from the previous people before us. We then got upgraded to a room with a ocean view and higher up in the hotel. This hotel ended up being very nice with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband & I, plus our 2 adult children, were in Honolulu for just one night. Wanted a hotel close to the Waikiki beach that wasn't so pricey. Booked 2 rooms with 2 beds each. They upgraded one of the rooms to a King bed suite b/c room with 2 beds weren't available. Very nice staff and great stay. The cookies were delicious!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,343 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing