We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, the best staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel in March and could not imagine having a better experience! All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. They responded to our requests right away and always followed up with us to find out how our stay was going. The staff in Trees restaurant in the morning are fabulous! They always greeted us with smiles and made our mornings special. The breakfast food includes many healthy choices such as fresh fruits and vegetables and fat free Greek yoghurt. The room was very clean and comfortable with excellent beds. Great air conditioning. The pool area is very pretty. This hotel is in a great location right across from a huge park and in a nice neighbourhood at end of the really busy part of Waikiki, and not right in the centre. It is still a busy area, but a little less so. You can have a pleasant stroll through the park to get to the beach as an alternative to the busy roads. You can easily walk to all restaurants, shopping and to the bus stops. This hotel offers an excellent value for the price. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors facing Ala Moana Blvd will have better views across the park to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laviniajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Small hotel but modernized, clean, and great service. Friendly front desk Staff and Valet Service was reliable and quick. Everything in the room especially the shower worked excellent. The bed was also really comfortable. Thank you Doubletree for making us feel home!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked at this hotel because we had a great experience at the Seattle Double Tree. We had an awesome time here at the hotel, meaning the service was excellent, and the people there were super friendly and very accommodating. Can't wait to stay here again!!! I am sure it was just an oversight, but the only thing that made this review perfect, was that there was hair in the bathroom sink and on the back of the bathroom door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stay here every time I need to go to Oahu, and it's like I'm coming home. Hats off to Danny at the Front Desk for providing great service. And also a thumbs up to William at the Valet. He was very friendly when he greeted me and parked my car and then again when he brought up my luggage. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pochomanHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only needed one night just before attending a Hawaiian Village conference for which rooms had been arranged. The room was nice and clean, amenities were very good, beds were very good, and our brief stay found nothing wrong. However, the view out the fairly large window was of an adjacent building with a flat black roof below. Nothing living in sight. No restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This Hilton Hotel fell below my expectations as far as what I was accustomed to. There is no free Wifi in room ($10 per day), no free breakfast ($16), TV didn't display sound very well, no fan in the bathroom, but an awesome shower, and clock aux cord didn't work. Also, it is usually $200 a night and totally not worth it. I would try to find another hotel! However, they do give you a free cookie with check in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Aloha Kyle,
Thank you for your review as we appreciate and value your feedback. I apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We do see that you were unhappy with some the charges, and we are sorry if these charges weren't clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. I am glad though that you enjoyed our shower and our warm signature chocolate chip cookie upon check in. Mahalo (thank you) for your review and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide our service to you.

Kind regards,

Michael Wilding

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I think you are better off elsewhere. The staff lacks basic training in all areas. Rooms are not cleaned well, valets are not helpful, front desk is often confused with basic questions, I had to move 2 times due to maintenance issues. If you stay here, everything is an add on charge, parking, internet, etc. HH members receive no perks. Walk 1 block to Wailana Coffee house. The food is better and half the price than Hilton's restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jplblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Aloha jplblue,

Thank you for your review as we appreciate and value your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not provide the quality of service you expected and deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We are very disappointed about the cleanliness issues and lack of helpfulness you experienced and as a team we are working on ensuring that this does not happen again. As an HHonors Member, we appreciate your loyalty and you deserve the best experience we can offer. If you return to Honolulu, we do hope we have a chance to make your stay right. Mahalo (thank you) for your feedback and for choosing to stay with Hilton and us.

Kind Regards,
Michael Wilding
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,662 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £143 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing