We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Staff friendly and very helpful. Good quality rooms. Very good value for the money. Location excellent for walking to the beach, and for partial ocean view, when upgrading to higher room. Good shopping nearby, and superb for quickly accessing quality restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Rebecca M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent four nights at the Doubletree Alana Waikiki while on business in Honolulu. I was very happy with my stay. My room was clean and comfortable. I slept very well. My room was very quiet even though I was on a lower floor facing Ala Moana Blvd. There is a restaurant with a limited menu that serves breakfast (buffet only) and dinner. The continental breakfast buffet was $16 and the full buffet was $23. I ate there a couple of time and the food was good but opted to eat more often next door at Cheeseburger Paradise where the breakfast special was only $5.99. The staff at the hotel was very nice and I plan to stay there again when on business. It had the feel of a business hotel to me and not a vacation hotel although there were several tour groups staying there. The hotel seemed far from the beach but was only about 1/2 mile to Ala Moana Shopping Center if you like shopping. There is a full time concierge desk at the hotel and I was contacted my first day with a friendly phone call to let me know what services were available.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have a very large lanai. I had my coffee out there each morning and read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was absolutely great! Great service, very clean, and right across from the beach. The area is nice and there are several places to eat close by. The concierge helped us plan our trip to the North Shore and sent us to some amazing places! It was easy to book a rental car through her and just go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel location, staff was friendly! We were in town for my daughter's graduation and everything was perfect. From check in to departure was quick and efficient! We were able to enjoy the pool and the valet servie was great, even though they seem to not be available round the clock, as cars were lined up the nights we were there to have their cars parked, so we had to do the same. Overall, it was a great hotel, and would love to return when we can!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank LadyMElkGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in a "penthouse" for 7 days, for a total of $2,317. I was very disappointed at what would be COMPLIMENTARY at other hotels for a fraction of the cost that were not at this hotel. I could have stayed comfortably at a super 8 with FREE breakfast, Wi-Fi/internet, a microwave AND refrigerator in the room. The room was rather small for a penthouse and incomparable to the pictures and description that are displayed on the website. Booking sales are the bread and butter, (as they made roughly $30,000 off of the group I came to Hawaii with alone) I found it kind of a rip off to charge $10 a day for Wi-Fi access, (It was free in the lobby however) and $16 dollars for a breakfast buffet (I only ate a bagel, yogurt, and juice and was still charged full price). More customer appreciation! People spend alot of money with you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Traycee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Aloha Traycee R,

Thank you for your review as we appreciate and value your feedback. We are privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you for the 7 days and do appreciate your business. We are disappointed that our amenity offerings were not what you expected and I apologize for any miscommunication when you made your reservation. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity when your travels will bring you back to Honolulu. Mahalo (thank you) for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Michael Wilding
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice view of the electrical Transformers and roof. At least room was clean, Coffee in room was nice, because they did not have any downstairs in the Bar/Resturant, where the guy did not know how to operate the machine. Cookies were warm, just glad we did not book a longer stay. Used Hhonors points so we got a deal for little cash out of pocket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank rcm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here 2 adults and 2children for 10 nights on a family fun package in a 2 bed suite. Checked in early & was charged a $25 fee even though the room was ready. Not too happy with that considering we are hhonor member. Room was very clean and spacious for the 4 of us. Beds a little on the small side but okay for a child and an adult to sleep in. Bathroom very large. The room was right next to the lifts which could be noisy at times. We were able to close off the bedroom at night so noise did not affect our sleep. Kids loved the pool as not very busy and were in there twice a day. Breakfast was included in the room rate and found this to be great. Plenty to choose from with continental items and then hot items including made to order eggs, omelettes etc. Staff at breakfast were exceptional especially Colleen and Susan who were happy to chat and make sure our kids were well looked after. Front desk staff great especially Danny who kept my kids well supplied with cookies...yumyum. Great location as hotel away from the heart of Waikiki so a little quieter but close to the Waikiki trolley stops and tour pick ups. Also close walk to shopping. One downfall was the wifi in the room which was part of the package but not very reliable. We could only connect for short periods at certain times of the day. Better connection in the lobby. Cleaning staff were very accommodating as most of the time we just requested from hem fresh towels etc without cleaning our room. Saved them time. Would stay here again if returned to Waikiki just for the staff.

Room Tip: Don't choose a suite as all located next to the lifts if noise is a problem. Rooms overlooking c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
739 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,649 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £128 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing