We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service Great!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Though there were a few minor issues with our room, the customer service at the DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki was great! The personnel at the front desk were very professional, greatly knowledgeable about the island, extremely helpful and just plain friendly. They were great at getting directions to sights/attractions. Skip the concierges ( pretty useless and not helpful or knowledgeable) and ask at the desk. We had a couple of problems with room, but maintenance staff was quick to repair. Good rates and great location. Rooms were nice and CLEAN!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha blcats,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We always enjoy hearing about guest experiences.
We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with your room, but we are happy to hear that the problems were quickly resolved by our maintenance team.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    520
    305
    113
    51
See reviews for
336
323
106
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great property and great location at the western edge of Waikiki (Hawaii), but staff services were sadly limited and disoriented. The first clue is when the restaurant staff indicate, repeatedly, that items from both their food and drink menu are not available. The food available was greasy (rarely do I use this term) and poorly prepared. The second clue was the 6:00 AM call from allegedly the front desk trying to scam my credit card. Fortunately, I refused to provide the number and received a blank look from the front desk when I reported it. Oddly, internet access is available for free in common areas, but $9.95 per day in the room for very, very limited and uneven wifi connectivity. It is though this property is an anachronism that just hasn't kept up with the times, including assuring that food and beverage supplies are available for restaurant, bar and catering services.
On the plus size, the rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. House keeping was thorough and reliable. A daily LOCAL newspaper was provided, which I greatly appreciate!

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer a high floor to get away from traffic noise and get a view of something, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumtux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha kumtux,

Thank you for taking the time to express the issues you experienced with us. We use feedback from guests to improve our service and hotel.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced while staying here. As a full service hotel we should always be able to meet the needs of our guests and beyond. We will work on resolving these issues as quickly as possible.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an exemplary stay the next time you are in Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaaawa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Affordable Rates and a Great Staff. Will definitely stay again. The room was exceptionally comfortable and clean. The food had great flavor and priced right. Lobby kind of small if a crowed shows up but with the knowledgeable staff your check in quick and up to your room you go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 706samuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha 706samuell,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay.
The goal of every employee is to assure that every guest has a wonderful stay. We are happy to hear that was the case with you.
We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good midscale hotel. Not beach proximate but beach access is an easy 5+ minute walk. Waikiki restaurants and stores are within walking distance but are farther than the beach. King room was fine. Queen rooms looked good for a family. Rooms was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha Tony D,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The longer we stayed the less I liked it. We chose this place for two primary reasons, location and two queen beds. As a family of three two double beds just don't cut it anymore and that's what the vast majority of hotels offer if you want two beds. The location (two blocks from the beach) and beds were fine. The hotel staff was also friendly.

The rest was disappointing. We were upgraded to a suite because I'm a Hilton Diamond member. The upgrade added a separate sitting area in our room which was nice to have. However the room is dated and much of it is of poor quality or disrepair. Large paint scratches or discolored repairs (i'm talking 3-4 inches) were on several walls and one door. The bathroom door is a slider and there's was a 1.5 inch gap between the bottom and the floor.

The balcony overlooked the tiny pool and the parking lot and building next door. Our room was right next to the elevator and you can definitely hear it during the night. If you have trouble falling asleep this isn't the room for you.

The breakfast was adequate and most people including us seemed to have a coupon. I'm not sure what it is about business hotel restaurants but they seem to some of the most inefficient eating establishments on the planet. The wait to be seated, get your check, a glass of water or something as simple as skim milk was ridiculous. What makes it all the more painful is that it's a buffet so it's not like they were busy taking orders. I can't believe how often 2-3 employees were just walking around but not doing anything in particular. Into the kitchen with empty hands and out of the kitchen with a single item. This was a real issue for us by the end of the stay.

Overall the place isn't terrible but I seriously doubt we'll be back unless the rates are dirt cheap. And if we do ever go back we won't be getting a room by the elevator or eating breakfast in the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get room 620.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Mdkirkpatrick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate feedback from guests as we use it to improve our service and the hotel.
We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with your room and the restaurant. We will address the issues you have stated in order to provide future guests with a fantastic stay.
We hope that in the future you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the stay you deserve.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dubuque, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Very classy and clean we asked and received an upgrade. The pool was pretty and operated 24/7. Large thick beach towels you can take to the beach. Hotel staff is so nice and helpful. Chef cooked our local food for us. Best part is location. You are 2 blocks from the beach yet closer than most of the hotels that have construction all around them in the middle of waikiki. The hawaii hilton village is 1 block away from the doubltree. Their beach and amenities are great to use. However it is crazy like Disney land and just as expensive. We loved our quiet and classy hotel with great service and friendly people.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gburke7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Aloha gburke7266,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review!
We love hearing that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your time here so enjoyable.
Our staff work hard to assure that each guest is fully satisfied and we are glad that it did not go unnoticed.
We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even as a gold member of Hilton Honors I still had to pay for everything. They serve better breakfast at the Best Western and it's free. The bed was hardly made each day. The room was small. The TV kept intermitting and losing volume. The internet connection was ungodly slow.... I had to tether from my phone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Aloha Joseph L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I would like to sincerely apologize that you did not experience the outstanding service and quality stay that Gold HHonors members should.
We do hope that in the future you will give us another chance to provide you with a better stay.

Mahalo,
Morgan Carmona
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,280 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Address: 1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing