We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel on business. Really enjoyed the room and the hotel staff (PJ & Zachary were especially helpful, knew me by name,etc.). The room (1024) had a large balcony and views of Diamondhead and the ocean. The beach is literally less than 100 steps from the hotes via a little path - you don't even have to cross the street.

The only unfortunate part of the hotel is the elevator... I guess I'm used to a bank of elevators in high rise hotels, but this is a smaller, boutique hotel with only one elevator.

Bikes are available for loan, wine is available in the lobby from 3 - 5pm, coffee and tea available in the restaurant in the morning beginning very early so business folks can participate, large balcony, yoga instructors... nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: 1024 was great - there is an obstructed view of the ocean, but we still enjoyed the view. We could...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daysaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Aloha daysaint,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are glad to see that more business travelers are finding us here on the "quiet end" of Waikiki. Your kind words regarding the staff are very much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them along. As you mentioned, due to our size, we only have one elevator, but we are researching more efficient ways of completing daily tasks. This will ensure that the elevator is free to expedite guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii so I relied on my travel agent to find a nice hotel in Honolulu. Did not want the mega hotels on Waikiki but something still handy to the beach. The Lotus was perfect for that. Located across from a park and next to a beach park, the area was quiet but still handy to everything. We walked along the waterfront each night to watch the sunset and one evening walked to Waikiki to experience the atmosphere. The newly opened restaurant was very good. The breakfast was continental so we did not use it too much. I believe they will be changing this so check when you inquire on reservations. There is also free wine in the lobby from 4 to 5 and their selections were quite good. The staff were always helpful and friendly. All in all, this was a great find and will definitely be the place to go for a return visit.

Room Tip: Get a room high up for a great view of the ocean and Diamond Head. We were on the 6th floor and that...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Aloha Papabuck49,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peacefulness of our property. I can tell you that we are looking to upgrade our breakfast selection and we hope you get a chance to try it when you return.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rooms and Staff superb. Not having a pool wasn't a big deal for us. Valet exceptional, provided water and very detailed maps to go sight-seeing. Hotel just outside Waikiki so you not in concrete jungle. Can't say enough for the stay. Hotel Breakfast was informal yet intimate.
Few Hotels near Public Park, so Beach Area very accessible. PT and Denise where Tops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Aloha David W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. It is truly our pleasure to make sure every guest has the best time they can while staying with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

LOVED my stay - my new favourite Honolulu hotel, just a little outside the busy Waikiki craziness yet close enough to stroll down for great people watching. Pet friendly! Abby loved the park. Beautiful and recently updated and very current. The main lobby has not been updated yet and I hope they don't . It is so lovely with its combination of lovely oriental wood screens and modern furniture. Please don't change!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortLangleyIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Aloha FortLangleyIslander,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are pleased that we are now your favorite Honolulu hotel. Being a pet friendly hotel is very important to us and we look forward to seeing you and Abby in the near future.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were in Hawaii for my daughter's birthday and the staff here made a great effort to make her day special.

The room was beautiful with fantastic views. We splurged on the corner room and were not disappointed.

We were pleased with the restaurant food, atmosphere and our waitstaff was relaxed and friendly. Would not change anything except possibly staying longer. Our one night was not quite enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenR3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Aloha JenR3107,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Birthdays are special and we are glad that we were able to make your daughter's birthday a memorable one! We look forward to you staying much longer the next visit.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are looking for a very nice boutique hotel a little off the beaten track but still in Waikiki then The Lotus is where you will want to be. Actually in the shadows of Diamond Head and a beautiful beach for your own use pretty much. All rooms have a view of Diamond Head and some of beach area. The higher you go (it cost more the ) the more of the beach area you can see. But, not really worth the upcharge.
The service at the Lotus is outstanding and very accommodating. The restaurant is very nice and the new chef does a great job with his seafood dishes he serves up. Our waitress was extremely helpful too.
Next door at the New Otani Hotel, their restaurant serves breakfast and lunch if you remain in this area. The Lotus is only open for dinner along with their bar. However, the Lotus has a continental breakfast area that is very good and reasonably priced. We used it several of the mornings and were very satisfied.
Also, right next door on the other side of Lotus is the acclaimed restaurant, Michel's. Wow !! What a great place to dine. The food was outstanding. But, again, not cheap.

Room Tip: See comments above about rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Aloha Stan A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I definitely agree with your review "off the beaten track, but still in Waikiki". Our location and staff are some of our greatest assets. I am delighted to hear that you got an opportunity to try out Park restaurant. It is a terrific addition to our property! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A little gem at the end of a very busy beach area, we had a wonderful corner room (1121) which enjoyed two balconies to benefit from the beach views and diamond hill. The room was modern clean and we truly loved it. We didn't have any problems with there being no pool or bar, it gave us the chance to go and taste the Waikiki beach area, the small quiet beach just five minutes walk away was really something to chill and watch the surfers. After visiting the main strip we could see that our hotel took advantage of not being in a built up area with no room to breathe. We took advantage of the bikes and chairs and towels for the beach. The staff are brilliant offering a great service to our every need from ordering a shuttle bus only 12 bucks to pearl harbour or organising ice for our room. We are so pleased to have chosen this hotel so really appreciate how beautiful the island is.

Room Tip: If you can request a room go for higher up the hotel to enjoy the views, corner rooms with two balco...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolGravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Aloha CarolGravers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are very proud of our "little gem" and the location, amenities and staff help to set us apart from our peers. We are truly thankful that you chose us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £179 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing