We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem...not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lotus Honolulu is a wonderful hotel with outstanding albeit understated service.

The team are well skilled to deal with the diverse questions of travellers & tourists alike. The rooms (diamond head, beach view) are amazing, great size, very comfortable bed, inclusions very homely & unforgettable views.

I loved the boutique style if the hotel & that it was away (albeit only 10/15mins) walk from the hustle / bustle & people watching of Waikiki. There are a range of very good restaurants very close by. For me it was a haven & one that I will certainly enjoy again. The little complimentary add-ons ie complimentary coffee in the morning & wine in the afternoon are a surprising & appreciated value add to the holiday experience.

Thank-you & keep up the great work.
Cheers
Gayle

Room Tip: Above floor 8 & the corner rooms are sensational
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Gayle S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Our staff and location are two of our greatest assets. I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of some of our complimentary amenities and being called a "haven" is definitely a welcomed compliment. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    222
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
210
445
72
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is everything you want in a boutique hotel... friendly, personal, modern, clean, and easy to get to/from your room without a 20 minute walk. It's a bit down the beach from the big resorts, restaurants, etc... which is a very nice walk when you're not in a hurry, but a bit far if you're lugging bags, etc. (check out the bus system before you go... I didn't "discover" this until the day I left).

Rooms are spacious and clean... and view from my lanai was great. A very pleasant place to sit and relax.

But it's the staff that won me over... they were genuine and friendly from the beginning. When my wallet was lost/stolen near the big resorts of Waikiki beach, the Lotus staff were kind and sympathetic at a time when I needed it.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for a high floor lanai. Mine did not directly face the ocean, but I could easily have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MereG666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha MereG666,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. The attention and service that you receive here is as if you were in our own home. I am so glad that we were able to be there for you in your time of need. We look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Never been to Hawaii before and found this little gem of a Hotel online. Stayed for 3 night early November before we visited Big Island and Maui and liked it so much we returned to Honolulu and stayed here another 3 nights before jetting back to Australia.
Rooms-especially from 8-12th floor have good views over Diamond Head and ocean, nicely upgraded and fantastic bed and pillows. Service is good,very helpful and friendly.
Loved it because in walking distance from Waikiki strip but you can leave all the hustle and bustle behind and retreat back into this little serene environment.Parks all around.
Good beaches in front.Towels,water and chair supplied free by Hotel.
If you want a very special dinner eat at Michel's next door right on the beach.That and Orchids were the 2 best meals we had anywhere in Hawaii.
No good coffee close by-but that applies to most of Hawaii & for that matter most of the USA.

Room Tip: from 8th floor upwards views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leopoldmelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha leopoldmelborne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are delighted that more of our friends from down under are finding our "little gem". Having you return to Lotus before going back to Australia is a tremendous compliment to my staff and I. It shows us that you truly felt welcomed in our home. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We live on Oahu and had to have our house tented for termites, so had to get out overnight. The Lotus welcomed us, including our dog, and were flexible on early check in and a extra half day rate for a very late check out. They were very friendly, provided treats for the dog, and recovered by iPad that I accidentally left in the room for me. The location cannot be beat if you want to avoid Waikiki, and the complimentary wine in the afternoon and coffee in the am were nice touches. I would return if I needed a stay-cation, and would recommend this to travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Aloha Jon S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are very proud to say that we are a pet friendly hotel. We are delighted to hear that your family, including your dog, had a nice stay. We look forward to your next stay-cation!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel on business. Really enjoyed the room and the hotel staff (PJ & Zachary were especially helpful, knew me by name,etc.). The room (1024) had a large balcony and views of Diamondhead and the ocean. The beach is literally less than 100 steps from the hotes via a little path - you don't even have to cross the street.

The only unfortunate part of the hotel is the elevator... I guess I'm used to a bank of elevators in high rise hotels, but this is a smaller, boutique hotel with only one elevator.

Bikes are available for loan, wine is available in the lobby from 3 - 5pm, coffee and tea available in the restaurant in the morning beginning very early so business folks can participate, large balcony, yoga instructors... nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: 1024 was great - there is an obstructed view of the ocean, but we still enjoyed the view. We could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daysaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Aloha daysaint,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are glad to see that more business travelers are finding us here on the "quiet end" of Waikiki. Your kind words regarding the staff are very much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them along. As you mentioned, due to our size, we only have one elevator, but we are researching more efficient ways of completing daily tasks. This will ensure that the elevator is free to expedite guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii so I relied on my travel agent to find a nice hotel in Honolulu. Did not want the mega hotels on Waikiki but something still handy to the beach. The Lotus was perfect for that. Located across from a park and next to a beach park, the area was quiet but still handy to everything. We walked along the waterfront each night to watch the sunset and one evening walked to Waikiki to experience the atmosphere. The newly opened restaurant was very good. The breakfast was continental so we did not use it too much. I believe they will be changing this so check when you inquire on reservations. There is also free wine in the lobby from 4 to 5 and their selections were quite good. The staff were always helpful and friendly. All in all, this was a great find and will definitely be the place to go for a return visit.

Room Tip: Get a room high up for a great view of the ocean and Diamond Head. We were on the 6th floor and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Aloha Papabuck49,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peacefulness of our property. I can tell you that we are looking to upgrade our breakfast selection and we hope you get a chance to try it when you return.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rooms and Staff superb. Not having a pool wasn't a big deal for us. Valet exceptional, provided water and very detailed maps to go sight-seeing. Hotel just outside Waikiki so you not in concrete jungle. Can't say enough for the stay. Hotel Breakfast was informal yet intimate.
Few Hotels near Public Park, so Beach Area very accessible. PT and Denise where Tops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Aloha David W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. It is truly our pleasure to make sure every guest has the best time they can while staying with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4002 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee, guests will enjoy amenities including: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, Valet Parking, unlimited DVD movies and Playstation 3 games, in-room Coffee, in-room Safe, Coffee and Tea service in the lobby, daily Wine Service in lobby, Concierge Services, daily Newspaper, Bicycles and use of Beach Towels & Chairs, outdoor Yoga Classes, and Waikiki Shuttle Service. We also offer admission for (2) at the Honolulu Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing