We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The perfect location out of the insanity of Waikiki, but just a short walk to shopping and restaurants. Wonderful staff! They had plenty of towels, chairs, snorkeling gear and bikes all just for the asking. They offer a water bottle every time you come in or out of the hotel. Great coffee in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Rooms were very nice, clean, big with balconies. Possibly the best bed I have ever slept on. We had an Ocean View room on the 11th floor which had a little obstruction to the ocean (the building in front) but still more than enough, and also great views of the Diamond Head volcano. Hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

You are a little out of Waikiki, and it's great to be away from the crowds. The hotel is right by one of the best beaches in the area (Kaimana) which has some decent snorkelling too, and the park next door which is perfect for a morning run.

Overall very happy and would recommend the hotel to friends. We ended up extending our stay there, rather than staying with friends because it was just so comfortable and convenient.

By the way, when speaking to locals and cabbies, they might know the hotel as the old W Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bwillsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had the best time at this boutique hotel. The hotel is located at the quieter end of Waikiki near Diamond Head. It is about a 10 minute walking distance from the main strip. We stayed at the 11th floor, room 1124 which had a beautiful view of Diamond Head and the beach. The room is very clean, modern, and comfortable. This is a boutique hotel with unique amenities like lounge chair rentals, bike rentals, and even car rental which we took advantage. The hotel even serves free wine each day between 4-6:00 pm – a great way to start the evening fun! The front desk attendants were extremely helpful and very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quieter experience than the typical Waikiki area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybo1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This boutique hotel is perfect for certain types of visits to Waikiki, or, more precisely, Honolulu. If you're looking for the Waikiki experience, this probably isn't the right choice. The walk to the Waikiki strip is pleasant and safe, but it's at least ten minutes to the pier (edge of the strip). The walk got a little old after a few times.

On the other hand, free parking is included in your resort fee, so if you're planning on exploring the island (a great idea), then this is a greet choice. The also have free bicycles for borrowing. We took ours on the 20 minute ride to the entrance of the Diamond Head hike. That was a highlight of the trip. We also took advantage of the Volvo car rental service that was available on site. It's a little pricey-- $60+ for the day-- but they're great cars and it's very convenient. The drive around the island, north shore, etc., is a must do.

The rooms were clean and modern. Ours was on the 11th floor, and we had a great view of diamond head and the ocean. If we were lower (I'm guessing floor four or below?) I might have been disappointed.

Other pluses-- free beach chairs and towels for borrowing.

The staff is also really helpful and attentive.

All in all, this is a really nice choice if you don't mind the hike to and from Waikiki.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike95128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you're looking for small and quiet, this the place. The Lotus is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki to make you feel like you're still connected yet get the quiet and beauty of Diamond Head. Our room was very nice with beautiful view of Diamond Head. We actually also had a small view of the Pacific and Kapiolani park which was a bonus. Our room and bathroom was kept clean daily. The staff was wonderful! Every single person we came in contact with who worked there was very very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The beautiful beach was a very short walk thru the parking lot. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a gorgeous view of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I expected an ocean view, not a view of the garages. There is no pool. The beach is a pathetic sliver of sand. You have to carry your own chair down to the beach. Come on. Really? How can that qualify as a premier boutique hotel? Not worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRintouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the at
this hotel on June 21& 22. I almost cancelled our reservation after reading some of the other reviews. After rereading the negative reviews I realized that their issues were not really a problem for us. We had a rental car and we understood that it was ocean views and not ocean front. We were on the 6th floor with 2 ocean view rooms. The views were amazing!
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially the evening staff. Rick, ( I think) the night valet was the best. We were going to drive for dinner after flying for 11 hours and he suggested a restaurant right next door. It was very expensive but it was also amazing!
The only disappointment we had here, and it is small, is the day we were checking out the valet went and got our car and parked it in front of the hotel, he never offered to help us with luggage etc., glad this was not our experience the entire stay! He had friends that had apparently stopped by and he was too busy visiting.
One more thing is that we were soo glad that we were not staying on Waikiki beach. What a zoo! It could be South Beach or downtown in any other big city, shopping and bumper to bumper traffic galore!
BTW they gave us the Trip Advisor price which was significantly cheaper than other comparable hotels!

Room Tip: 6th floor, ocean view. Views in both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
429 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4002 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £172 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing