We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for families!”

Central House Family Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central House Family Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beach Lake
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect, but there's not a lot to choose from in the area so we gave it a try. This place was great! We were in the Laurel Ridge Building and the rooms were big and clean, and there was lots to keep the kids happy - pool, hot tub, boating, playground, shuffle board, game room. The staff was friendly and it's right on a beautiful lake and close to Delaware River for rafting, tubing, canoeing. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Laurel Ridge building is new
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Central House Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I absolutely am in love with this place!! I'm 21 years old and have been coming here since I was born..The people who come every are amazing and I am so grateful to have a vacation place to come to when I just want to wind down and have a good time ) Everyone is so chill here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeganMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our second stay at this resort, where we stayed for a family reunion. This is a very rural area, with not a lot of options for eating out and recreation. They offer a meal service (we didn't opt for it since we had family activities lined up off-site). There are 2 room sizes, regular and classic. The classic rooms are much larger and have ceiling fans (they all have a/c units). The rooms are old but well maintained and have been updated (new carpets, bathrooms). There is virtually no noise between the rooms. However, we tend to go to bed early, and children were running around loudly. That was our only disturbance. The pool is very nice; there is a hot tub; you need to bring your own pool towels and toiletries (most people hung their towels on the bannister to dry). My son rented a lake kayak to paddle around the lake; there were also paddle boats. There is a shuffleboard court, ping pong table and bocce ball area next to the ice cream parlor (they had 3 different flavors at a very good price). There was a decent playground and volleyball net set up.

Because it is a small resort, the front desk is sometimes unstaffed. We arrived before noon and walked around until we found a maid; she pointed out the person we needed to see. I was told that the maids are local women, some of whom are school teachers, just trying to make extra money when school is out. This is a friendly environment; you can say hello to everyone.

There is a small water park very close by as well as a golf driving range. We played golf at Cricket Hill, about 10 miles away. Not a bad little course. You can also rent canoes to go down the Delaware River, which isn't that far away. Brochures are in the front office.

Children sign up to be one of the bell ringers for meal time. Believe me, it gets loud! No room service.

Room Tip: The first time we had a room here, we had the normal room, which was very small. Of course, we only...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Recently spend a night at this resort while traveling with friends. The owners did a fantastic job of making us feel welcome and really rolled out the red carpet with their hospitality. Everything was immaculately kept and the rooms were spacious and updated. The establishment has a lot of charm and there was a blanket of snow on the ground. We totally enjoyed the serenity.
Nick and Jill

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed here on many occasions. We have had Wedding Receptions, Family Reunions and just had a 50th Class Reunion there! The food is delicious and the accommodations are always clean and comfortable!! Fred and Marge Thuman make a point of making sure everything is perfect! The Beach Lake area is very Beautiful year round! You can always find something interesting to do! We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Have stayed in different rooms and all are newly renovated and clean and comfortable! All are Smoke...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This local family owned and run resort is off the beaten path in the little village of Beach Lake, Pa. There are very few accomodations within 20 miles and we were there for a family function. We stayed there May 10 & 11 which is before they open for the summer. Even off season, some of the lodge rooms are kept open.

We had a family unit whcih was one bedroom with a queen sized bed, a lovely large bathroom, then a 2nd bedroom with twin beds. Both bedrooms had tv's. Everything was very clean, the rooms had been updated just a couple of years ago.

There are also a lodge and family cabins. The outdoor heated pool was getting its annual servicing and prep for the coming season. The resort property has waterfront on Beach Lake where you can swim, fish and canoe or kayak. We saw some folks kayaking while we were there. Near the water was an area for bonfires with big logs or benches to sit on.

During the summer season, rates are mostly full American Plan with excellent meals on the property and some cookouts and hay rides. Some activities are fishing, paddle boats, game room, bocci, country square dancing, giant outdoor spa. It is about 5 miles from the Delaware river where you can canoe and raft.

Fred Thuman and his family took great care of us during our brief stay. He and Marge were most accomodating.

If you want some time in a relaxed atmosphere where you can get back to nature and enjoy the country, this would be a gerat place to come. It is not big and fancy, but it is comfortable, updated, and has lots of activities for families. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SusieCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Lake
5.9 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
28 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#2 of 3 in Honesdale
129 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
14.2 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
13.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central House Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central House Family Resort

Address: 81 Milanville Rd, Beach Lake, PA 18405-8403
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Beach Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beach Lake
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing