We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Vicksburg
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Great location. Very nice staff and immaculate. The bistro is pretty good. Only downfall is that the walls are very thin and you can hear everything, everywhere. Other than the walls, no complaints. Oh except the lighting in the bathroom is very dim. Hard to put on your makeup.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hfergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    101
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
116
104
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Check-in was a difficult process. Frustrated, we went to our room and door keys wouldn't work. We had traveled all day and needed to rest. Even more frustrated, we returned to front desk. After waiting while check-in clerk talked on phone, we finally received reprogramed room keys from a unfriendly clerk.

We had to return to front desk AGAIN because breakfast was to be included. The same unfriendly clerk, said you should have gotten that when checked-in. We had four in our group and the breakfast card was only $20. That barely paid for two at the Bistro.

We had to return to front desk again. The room was set up for two people only. We had to get more towels.

We wanted to get on computers that was in lobby area. There was three and none of them worked. I asked unfriendly clerk for help three or four times. He did come look at them and said he would be back. Never seen him again. Nice lobby but nonworking computers.

The TV reception was TERRIBLE as well!

Beautiful hotel but nonworking equipment.

Unhappy, disappointed customer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deneace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa C, General Manager at Courtyard Vicksburg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding the problems that occurred during your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear you have experienced different services levels during your stay with us. We always try to provide each guest with excellent service; unfortunately we were not able to achieve this with you. I will personally take actions and continue training our staff to ensure that our guest has the best possible service to meet their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

During our one night stay we had a very noisy group in the room next to us who we're up until after 4 am!! After numerous calls to the front desk, nothing was ever done about it. Will not stay here again. Terrible service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa C, General Manager at Courtyard Vicksburg, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry that you and your family were not able to rest due to noise. Whenever we receive a review that indicates an opportunity to improve, we make all necessary changes, in order to better meet your needs in the future. We hope you will stay with us again."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room was very clean . The only issue we had was an odd mildew smell. But other than that we had a great experience especially with all the staff. I loved the fact that they used Paul Mitchell hair products.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammbone2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We needed 2 adjoining rooms and upon checking in, found that one of the rooms reeked of smoke. We couldn't move rooms because there were no others available that adjoined, so they put a machine in there to clean the air. It didn't work and it was kind of a miserable night. A few days later, I thought I would email the manager (just to see) and ask for a refund on the room. She profusely apologized and said Marriott does not tolerate smoking, offering to credit my card back almost 75% of what I paid for that room. I am MORE than happy with that - we did actually stay in the room! While the hotel itself was pretty standard, because of the front desk trying to move me and my family, their desire to try to make it right by bringing in the machine, the managers refunding most of my money back...all of those things set it apart from other hotels. We just drove through Vicksburg on our way to Destin, Florida - a trip we make quite frequently. I will be staying here again because of the customer service in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustPassingThru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Courtyard is a wonderful place. The decor is beautiful. But the staff in witch is predominantly African American females was very cold. I my self am African American women, & in no way prejudice. But I felt very uncomfortable. The staff would of course speak & say pleasant things, but it seemed so fake! They acted as if they hated being at work, & you could tell that they where only saying these things, because it's policy. Because if this, I will never return to this particular Marriott ever again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caremellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa C, General Manager at Courtyard Vicksburg, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. While we are very proud to be a part of Marriott property. Our staff really works hard to go the extra mile and set us apart from the rest of any Marriott property. Our staff kindness is very genuine and very real I’m sorry you feel the service that was provided to you was fake. We take great pride in making our customers happy. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed other aspects of our property; I sincerely apologize if the constant speaking or making sure your stay was ok offended you. This is the type of service that we provide to our guest our staff wants to make sure we give the type of service that makes our guest wants to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Decided at the last minute to visit historic vicksburg for Memorial day. No problem checking in. Greeted by a friendly front desk employee, thanked for being a "gold" member, and handed a welcome bag with drink and snack. Room was clean and updated. The indoor pool was small, but fine for a dip. The hotel is about 2 intersections from the National Military park. Well worth the $4 per person admission. The casinos were a disappointment, as was the downtown. You can tell they are trying to rebuild and update the main street downtown. Surprisingly not much downtown to see/do. Would recommend the $5 admission to tour the "old courthouse" with thousands of civil war era items to view. Overall, great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vicksburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg
#10 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
#9 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Vicksburg

Property: Courtyard Vicksburg
Address: 1 Underwood Dr, Vicksburg, MS 39180-4435
Region: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vicksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Vicksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Vicksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing