We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum
Ranked #11 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site where the first Coke was bottled in 1891.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is not where the first Coke was served, but the first soda fountain which served the Atlanta beverage to think of putting it into a bottle. I was disappointed to start when I purchased an "iced cold Coca Cola" when I entered the museum, and it was luke warm. Another tourist tossed her beverage in the trash and left in disgust. The displays were not clearly marked, and there were not many displays. The "soda fountain re-creation" outside in the back was an empty building that stored an old soda fountain. Nothing to see there. I would deem this one a "Waste of time and money"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    79
    98
    46
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sucked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I visited March of last year and I was expecting a big museum dedicated to the first place coke was bottle. I was wrong. All it was was a picture show with Coke pics on the wall. It is not worth the trip.

If I was able to give a 0 I would.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyRose2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Just small shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just one block up from the river wall if you want to know about the man who invented coke a cola started here in Vicksburg.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank holidayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small But Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Like other reviewers, this little place wasn't what we expected but we still enjoyed it when we visited on 4/29/14 after a day of touring the National Battlefield Park (fabulous). Lots of memorabilia packed into a little place with a fascinating story of how bottled Coke got it's start. Definitely not slick or fancy but that was ok with us, still worth the $3.50 admittance.

Helpful?
Thank dkatx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

From brochures read we anticipated a more interactive tour of this museum. It is a self-tour with little to see except for some Coca-Cola memorabilia hanging on the walls. The actual bottling process could have been explained better. And most disappointing was the lack of a working soda fountain. The entry fee is only $3.50 but not worth that.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JimfromTexas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum also viewed

 

Been to Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing