We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Princeton, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was very nice. Just wish it was connected to the Casino.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisskriss30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    86
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
48
117
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

While traveling last September, we stopped off in Vicksburg, and stayed at the Ameristar Casino Hotel. It truly is a no thrills hotel. No pool or restaurants within the hotel itself. You have to go down to the casino which is next to the Mississippi River to find the restaurants. You can either walk or take the bus down to it. The restaurants were quite good, and the prices were reasonable. The casino literally is the shape of an old River steamboat. It was a nice old casino with lots of slot machines to choose from.

The hotel rooms were really nice. Plenty of space, and imho it rivaled any hotel room that I ever stayed at in VEGAS. My only complaint was the front desk help. They all had the personality of a slug. They need to work on that some. However, they were somewhat helpful, and there were more positives then negatives overall at this resort. By the way the folks that worked at casino were really nice! Overall, we had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to share your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Vicksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 nites in this motel...staff very friendly..room very clean ..bed very comfortable..we had a great view of the Mississippi River. The room does not have a fridge.it is not adjoined to the casino,which is across the street and down a huge hill. A trolley runs 24/7. Food at the casino was very good. I did not win any money at the casino!! Lol ..Overall a very pleasant trip and we are going back in July.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank idabobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The room was nice and the staff was very friendly. Our room overlooked the river, so the view was nice.

We had dinner at the casino buffet.....the food was okay, but the restaurant staff weren't the greatest. Tables were not cleaned off in a timely manner, wait staff were goofing off instead of working and the floor was very dirty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were not there for the casinos although I did walk through them. The hotel was nice but not sound proof. We could hear a lot of what was going on in the hall. The pool and hot tub (both outside) were both out of commission- construction being done. What we both did love about this hotel was the huge whirlpool tub in the room! We could both get in it and it was so relaxing and romantic. The bed was very comfortable and the AC was nice and cold!! Great view of the Mississippi river and a lovely park across the street for kids and picnics.

Room Tip: We loved the whirlpool room, but it did take away from the 'space' of the room. But it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsytrvlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanton, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

arrived 2:15pm Thursday outside was a clean well cared for parking lot with ample spaces, lobby large friendly atmosphere,polite and courteous staff.They gave accurate and informative answers to all inquires.The hallways were well luminated,carpeted floors gave a relaxing appearance.The room was clean well lit with fresh linens and comfortable chairs,desk with internet access.We enjoyed the nites sleep on these cloud like mattresses and the 4 pillows,no headaches or backaches. Goodnites Rest.

Room Tip: higher floors give a better view of the city/Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We saw advertisements for this hotel while we were traveling east on the interstate and decided to stay there during our return trip west. We made a reservation online a few hours before our arrival. The hotel is situated north of the interstate and close to several gas stations. When we arrived the check-in process was seamless. The front desk staff was eager to answer our questions regarding the adjacent casino, and recommended a few places to eat. We were on the 8th floor of the hotel and had a great view of the river. The riverboat casino was within easy walking distance of the hotel (downhill going, uphill returning) and the hotel did provide a shuttle every 10 - 15 minutes. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Japanesejockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Riverwalk Casino Hotel
Riverwalk Casino Hotel
#11 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
WaterView Casino and Hotel
WaterView Casino and Hotel
#16 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lady Luck Hotel
Lady Luck Hotel
#14 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vicksburg
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Vicksburg
Courtyard Vicksburg
#4 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
Address: 4116 Washington St, Vicksburg, MS 39180-5288
Region: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg is designed with a crisp, modern look and unparalleled comfort in the 149 guest rooms. The Ameristar Casino in Vicksburg is housed on a riverboat and contains 70,000-square-feet of gaming excitement. Just a short shuttle ride across the street from the hotel allows you to choose from three restaurants at the Ameristar Casino and you’ll be sure to find something that suits your taste buds. The shuttle service is free to all guests and makes stops every 15-20 minutes from the Ameristar Hotel to the Ameristar Casino and its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Vicksburg
Ameristar Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing