We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good lunch”

Rusty's Riverfront Grill
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stopping in alone for lunch, I chose to sit at the bar. This was not a problem at all; I had a very good meal and friendly service.

Although my fried catfish and garlic butter green beans were superb, I thought the meal fell short of excellent because it seemed incomplete. I am not from Vicksburg or Mississippi, but I am from the South, y'all, and I am accustomed to enjoying some kind of bread with every meal. With fried catfish, I am likely to have hushpuppies and cole slaw. I had neither at Rusty's. Fish on the board and no cole slaw! In fact, not even a slice of lemon appeared for my iced tea or my catfish until I requested it. Odd!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    255
    102
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great spot for good food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Rusty's on a trip from Dallas to Atlanta. We didn't mind the 3 mile drive from the highway. Right around the restaurant the downtown area has been restored. We had a 20 min wait for a table, so we walked to the railroad station and read about the ship dry docked across the street.

Our waitress was great. Fast, available, and quick to bring things. The food was tasty, for the most part. My husband enjoyed the Hawaiian Chicken, but it was a tad on the dry side. I found the crab cakes to delicious. We both had a side salad which was very fresh. My son had a cheeseburger, but thought it was just ok. I saw the portion sizes on other dishes, especially the pastas, and they were huge! Everything was sweetened. Butter, rolls, onion ring batter, etc.

Bathrooms were clean, too. Overall, great service, good food. I don't know how it compares to other restaurants in town, but the fish options make this THE place for seafood.

Helpful?
Thank kimberlietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were in town for a day of visiting the Civil War monument and stumbled across Rusty's. Everyone inside seemed to be local. The seafood and the salads were excellent. Enjoyable experience

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All the Rage on the MS River!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I frequently dine here and it is BY FAR my fav in town! The Ahi Tuna melts in your mouth and the service is fantastic and quick! A MUST for excellent food in Vicksburg!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie-Bx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deland,florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

4 of us traveling Nashville to New Orleans stayed in Vicksburg couple nights,we ate at Rusty,s all ordering something different , we shared and agreed all was excellent. My wife likes fried oysters.
We think they were the best ever,very lite batter & not greasy.We are from Florida,my brother and his wife from Seattle so we all have ate our share of seafood. Very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2GoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty's Riverfront Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rusty's Riverfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing