We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accomodation; great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Vicksburg
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cheap accomodation; great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First room smelled bad due to a carpet issue/water leak. Called front desk and was relocated to another room. Front desk clerk was nice and the room was clean and overall satisfactory. Close to the casinos!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

We apologize for your inconvenient for the first time but after that you got the good and satisfactory stay.

We try to satisfy our guest with the best hospitality as we can.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    37
    26
    53
See reviews for
65
42
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Got in and noticed the beds were not comfortable. I can deal with that. Small tear in the blanket. Ok. That's not too bad. But I found huge bed bugs on the bed my my children were laying on after they had been laying there a half hour. They changed our room and said they had just been inspected.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandiemo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

We do apologize for your inconvenient stay. We try to give our best hospitality as we can.
Unfortunately we can not meet your expectation this time.

Please give us one more opportunity to serve you better.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vicksburg hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
349 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for the Hilton property, it is down the road. This place offers cheap accommodation that is near the national historic park.

Our rooms were clean and spacious. It is an older hotel. It's was a quiet night followed by a basic continental breakfast.

The staff was friendly and seemed family oriented. Overall, we found this to be a good experience. It's a cheap, safe, clean place to stay. It's not a lots of frills place though but the location really works if you are here to see the park.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for staying with us.We appreciate your business. We always try to provide best hospitality as we can. Our goal is to satisfy the guests with price, service and quality.

Once again thanks for the kind words

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Bath tub grungy, carpets stained, dresser top was nasty, room smelled "off," mildew in/on fridge, paint peeling everywhere. Had another night scheduled for my return trip - cancelled it. Won't be back

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We apologize for the inconvenience. We are sorry that we could not serve you better this time,
please give us one more opportunity to serve you better next time

We appreciate your business.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was an absolute waste of money. The outside of the building looked absolutely nothing like the picture online, what a terrible way of handling business. It looked like a hurricane as bad as Katrina ran through it and no one bothered to repaint. The "continental breakfast" was an absolute joke -- a plastic bowl with milk and cereal. The pool was a joke. The rom had a FILTHY BATHROOM. For the sake of not going through the trouble of a refund, I went to Walmart and bought cleaning products to clean this disgusting bathroom. The towels -- every single one of them had yellow stains!!! I don't even want to begin to imagine what those might've came from!? The bed had springs sticking out, the iron screwed up my tshirt. The only thing in this room that was updated, was the flat screen television. Only ONE lamp -- out of four -- worked! Awful, just awful. If you want to WASTE your money on a filthy room then stay here -- if not then I highly recommend to go some place else. I know I will -- for the same price! I wouldn't even give this place a one star -- that's too much of compliment!

Room Tip: Do not rent a room here. You're better off feeding your money to a dead horse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We apologize for the inconvenience. We are sorry that we could not serve you better this time but please give us one more opportunity to serve you better.

We do care for each and every guest and try to satisfy them with the best hospitality as we can.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room was spacious enough, clean and it was pretty quiet. Plenty of dining options nearby and if you want to see the National Military Park, it's only 5 minutes away. I forgot my e-reader in the room and after calling the front desk the next day they confirmed they had found it and returned it to me the next day by mail!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Vicksburg3308, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Vicksburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are thankful to you for giving us opportunity to provide best hospitality as we can. We thank you for your kind words and for recommending other guest.

We really appreciate your business.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Vicksburg
Ramada Vicksburg
#20 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Vicksburg
Rodeway Inn Vicksburg
#21 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg
#10 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
#9 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.2 mi away
WaterView Casino and Hotel
WaterView Casino and Hotel
#16 of 30 in Vicksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Vicksburg

Property: Howard Johnson Vicksburg
Address: 3308 Pemberton Square Blvd, I-20 Exit 1C Halls Ferry Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180-5577 (Formerly Super 8 Vicksburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Vicksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Vicksburg
Super Eight Vicksburg
Vicksburg Super Eight
Vicksburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing