We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY IMPRESSIVE!”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in International Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunderbird Lodge
Roseau, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSIVE!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We decided to celebrate Mothers Day in International Falls - a halfway point for us coming almost from the Northwestern Corner of Minnesota and our daughter coming from close to Duluth. It was a beautiful day for a drive and made the more so at our arrival at Thunderbird Lodge. My wife and I made ourselves comfortable on the front porch, sitting in the full sun, as we waited for our daughter to arrive.

First staff member we met was a very friendly fishing guide. We had a great visit chatting about places he and we had traveled to. The staff in the dinng room were equally pleasant, and the food was superb. We three enoyed the Walleye Almondine which was done to perfection, and our desserts were equally good. The views of Rainy Lake were stunning - we took many, many pictures. Prices were in keeping with any top notch restaurant. WE WILL CERTAINLY BE GOING BACK!

Room Tip: We had made a reservation, which I would highly recommend for anyone especially on busy holidays and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
allover
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

http://thunderbirdrainylake.com/

Thunderbird Lodge is a Full Service Resort offering lodging accommodations - both rooms and cabins, fishing, snowmobiling and a Marina, and a Dining Room and Lounge with services for Banquets & Group Meetings. It is in a beautiful yet convenient spot on Rainy Lake with plenty of acreage and shoreline. 10 miles outside of downtown International Falls on Hwy 11 East. If you plan to spend time on the lake, don't spend it at a hotel or motel in town, come here and experience life Up North. This place has the peace and serenity people miss out on living in a city. I highly recommend renting a cabin for a week or more, get the whole family together and "unplug" from life. If you don't want to grill or BBQ, there is a full service bar and restaurant in the Lodge with yummy meals and great views. Staff is accommodating with any special needs. Book in advance, this place is a hot spot for seasonal fishing trips.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin furthest away from the lodge for maximum peace and quiet, then enjoy the nature surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildbirdseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor,OH
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We chose to stay here due to the proximitry to Voyageurs National Park. Dated furnishings, noisy room but nice lake views. The attatched restraunt had large menu, good food and service although somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: Don't book the room nearest the front desk. It is directly across from the room used for weddin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AppliKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Ths is a great location on Rainy Lake but I thought it was overpriced. We originally had a room that was quite noisy because of a wedding party. The staff was very accomodating and moved us to a cabin. The cabin has a great view of the lake and the kitchen had been updated. It was a good deal for us but I didn't book a cabin originally because they were pretty pricey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

If you want to stay at Thunderbird Lodge, book your stay in advance. This is a very popular resort on beautiful Rainy Lake in northern Minnesota. Guests have a choice between staying in a cabin or in a room at the lodge - we were on a budget so we chose to stay in a room with a deck overlooking the lake.

We got to the room after the front office closed, so we picked up our room key at the bar. I was surprised that nobody asked for I.D. It wasn't an electronic key; it was just a normal every day key.

Our room was very large, and we the view of the lake was absolutely stunning.

Since our room was off the main hallway, I was concerned that we would hear noise - but we never heard any noise.

The meal at the lodge was good. We ate one dinner there, had leftovers and snacks for breakfast and lunch, and ate our 2nd supper at a different lodge down the road.

We took advantage of the free canoe usage.

We found it amusing that we were only able to get 3 TV stations - 1 of them was in French. But we were not up there to watch TV.

I only have 1 problem with this lodge; if you stay in the lodge itself (rather than the cabins), the rooms are near where the kitchen staff takes cigarette breaks. Any time we sat out on the deck or kept our sliding door open, we were treated to second-hand smoke. We are non-smokers. We wanted to close the door and turn on the air conditioning, but we could not get that to work.

If you are staying there in the lodte itself, consider asking the management to have its kitchen staff smoke elsewhere. Otherwise stay in a cabin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oakdale6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We've been fishing up on Rainy Lake for more than 30 years and stayed and eaten everywhere possible between Eau Claire, WI to Fort Frances, ONT, Canada. Six years running now at the Thunderbird Lodge and our search is over. Great food, friendly atmosphere and perfect blend of locals and guests to make anyone feel comfortable...the best for a hundred miles in any direction...food is the best north of Duluth and rooms are clean and very comfortable

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The fact that we only go up there once a year
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CHODZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

The rooms were good with a nice view of the lake. We stopped for dinner which had been highly recommended by a lot of locals and found the service was the worst I have ever had. We waited for about two hours for our food and when we finally received it my steak was warm at best and they had ran out of potatoes, riceand hashbrowns before we got our food. We started eating and found the medium done steak was almost raw, not rear but raw. When we sent it back they said they were understaffed even though we counted six waitresses working. This is not a big place and there was no excuse for the service. We will not eat there again but would recommend staying there.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthDakotaKeweenaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near International Falls
10.0 mi away
Days Inn International Falls
Days Inn International Falls
#5 of 8 in International Falls
150 reviews
10.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in International Falls
88 reviews
10.7 mi away
Copper River Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Place Rendez Vous Hotel & Convention
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Fort Frances
Super 8 Fort Frances
#1 of 4 in Fort Frances
347 reviews
11.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Interna...
#2 of 8 in International Falls
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 2170 County Road 139, International Falls, MN 56649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > International Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in International Falls
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service resort with hotel and cabin rentals, full dining room, banquet facilities, marina, guide service and boat rentals. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel International Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing