We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Hell Hole Batman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holy Hell Hole Batman”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We booked this motel thinking that the website looked decent and for the price it looked like your middle of the road room. FAR FROM IT! Shabby, dirty, cinder block building. The reception area smelled, the walk to the room I noticed that a door lock on another room looked like it had been punched out. Our room was dated, dingy, 1/2 a roll of toilet paper w/ no refills and a partition board screwed into some cinder blocks separating the sleeping area from the vanity. We were told that the pool or the hot tub were not available for use...the pool though did have leaves, paper and soda bottles floating in it. The largest meth lab bust in the county history happened at this motel 3 days after we checked out. (also arrested was the motel manager) Three words...ick, ick ick! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mochuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    35
    36
    38
See reviews for
50
64
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

After years of staying at the Vineyard Hotel, our last trip was a disaster. Our last night in the room we were awakened about 1:15a. with fighing, foul lauguage, crying, knocking in the room next to us. I called the front desk to take care of the matter. After about 45 minutes they finally quieted down. Upon check out later that morning, I asked to have the room for free the last night. A nice young lady at the front desk said she couldn't do that, but gave me the managers card and days and times to call her.
After 4 days I finally got to speak with the manager, was that ever a "more horrible" experience than the fightning neighbors!! She chewed me up one side and down the other. Wondered why I hadn't called 911, what would I have done if someone got shot and was dead and accused me of financial gain over someone else's misfortune!! Anyway, I will never stay at the Walla Walla Vineyard Hotel again and would advise you the same....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youandmeinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The pictures are very misleading. Perhaps these rooms were cleaned and well lit for the photo session, but they certainly don't look like that now. The room we stayed in was very dark...the curtains were filthy and the bath towels were stained. The tub was dirty and the showerhead was orange with rust. The walls are cinderblock and you can hear people talking across the street as if they were standing right outside your door. Unless you are absolutely broke just pay the extra 20 bucks for a quality room anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AaronJ4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walla Walla hotels

Tri-Cities, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This place was exactly what you'd expect for $47.. and for that price, I'm ok with all of the downfalls, of which there are many.

Electric baseboard heating.
Cinder block walls.
Old. Old. Old.
Horrible beds.

You get the picture. But again -- for the price, and the location, I'm willing to put up with a lot for an evening of wine tasting in Walla Walla.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVGinPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I read the reviews and before I unloaded the car, I searched the bed for bugs....there were none. The rooms were as clean as any other I've been in (not spotless, but for the price, ok.) We arrived earlier than expected and they let us go in early, which I really appreicated after driving straight through from So. Cal. The rooms were replenished daily. Some of the amenities were not available, but I wasn't there for that anyway. Neighbors were a little noisy, but you can't control that. For the price, it worked, location was wonderful. I would stay there again, with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I have to admit that we stayed here because I waited too long to book a reservation and it was one of the only places left. However, I was pleasantly suprised with the place.

The rooms are dated and made of concrete block, very typical 70's Motel style, but you're getting what you pay for. It was quiet, the beds were comfortable and the location might be the best in town aside from the Marcus-Whittman. It's only a couple of blocks walk to a Safeway, multiple tasting rooms and pretty much any restaurant in the downtown area.

Quote from my wife "For what we're saving a night over the Marc, I can buy a couple bottles of nice wine and forget what the room looks like". Truer words were never spoken.

The parking lot is in an alley and the pool area does need some serious maintenance, but it was October when we stayed here, so it wasn't like we were using the pool. There's a bunch of good places to have breakfast in town, so we weren't eating their continental breakfast. Oh and like many other reviews the spa was out of order (again, didn't care).

If you're a jacket and tie kind of person you're not going to be happy here, but if you're looking for a place in the downtown area to lay your head at night it's a decent value for the price.

I also don't think they have any kind of internet available. Luckily the book store across the alley didn't have protection on their wireless.

Make sure your wife is cool if you're staying here for an anniversary because you're not gaining any style points on this place. I would pick it over the Travelodge a block away. It was cheaper and looked about the same quality-wise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayorMcSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel and had to check out because they did not clean our rooms for 2 nights. We were assigned another room on what would have been the third night but it was not made up either. At that point we checked out and found another hotel for less that was clean and updated for less money. Later I found out we were charged for the day we checked out. Contacted management several times and could not get them to issue a refund for the night we did not stay there. I could not even get the manager or district manager to return any phone calls. Overall, this place is trashy, old, misrepresents there quality level, and their landscaping is primarily weeds, etc. Also, the place feels cold and spooky.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdkk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Address: 325 E Main St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2003 (Formerly Walla Walla Vineyard Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Walla Walla, right across from Whitman College, is the Walla Walla Vineyard Inn. Downtown restaurants, museums, wineries and shopping are located within steps of our entrance. The VA Medical Center is one mile, with other hospitals located within 1 mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walla Walla Vineyard Hotel Walla Walla
Walla Vineyard Hotel
Walla Vineyard Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing