We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room, great staff and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, great staff and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a last minute stay as we were passing through. The room was clean, very comfortable and the AC worked great. It appears they've updated these rooms. The bed was nice and the shower/bathroom was clean. The breakfast is served in another building near the pool, which also houses the hot tub. Breakfast had the usual selections. The outside of the property doesn't look so good. There was construction debris, and a giant dumpster outside of our rooms. Don't let the outside fool you. The rooms are a good value for the money. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Chris L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you like the rooms and the value received. Rest assured, the "mess" outside is only temporary and isolated to the interior rooms building that we are currently renovating. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    67
    34
    33
    35
See reviews for
49
59
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Actually 3.5 stars-The price of the room was very reasonable, the location was terrific, and the bedding was excellent.

However, the windows and doors were so dirty that they impaired our enjoyment of the fine things named above. Also the choice of bright yellow and purple for wall colors was pretty difficult to understand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sheltuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you like the bedding, and our location. We appreciate the feedback regarding the color scheme and the dusty doors/windows. We don't want our guests to encounter dusty doors or windows. We will take immediate action to correct this. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a great location for downtown. I was not nuts about the room itself. Bed was hard... I did like the pillows. I also did not like the fact you have to walk from building to building to do activites. i.e. breakfeast was 2 buildings over. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you liked the location and the pillows. We apologize that your room was not near the amenities. We always try to ask the guests where they would like stay in the hotel. We apologize if you didn't have the opportunity to choose the location of your room. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the Red Lion Inn twice in the past two weeks for business, great value for the dollar. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. Only complaint is the simple breakfast choice otherwise great location at a great price

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nicolaas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Nicolaas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you like our clean rooms and staff. We appreciate the feedback on the breakfast. We are looking at different options to add to our Roaring Start Breakfast. Thank you staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This motel has been around a long time. The rooms have been updated. but are still made of cinder blocks. Interesting color choices... I thought Whitman's colors were blue and gold but the walls are purple and gold (I tried to upload a picture but couldn't). Parking is tight in an alley.

In general this isn't a bad place to stay. We were on the alley side of the larger building, and it was quiet (some rooms attached to the office building). Bed was very comfortable, heavy bath linens. Flat screen TV, small microwave and fridge. Downtown and Whitman College very close - easy walking to everything.

However, we had a few gripes. One, the breakfast was pretty bad. I was in there right after the buffet opened and the sausage/bacon tasted like it was marginally reheated from the day before. The coffee was so weak I wouldn't even call it the color of tea. (Luckily there is a Safeway-Starbucks across the street.) Two, my husband had to go to the front desk 3 times to get someone to open the hot tub area. Three, the pool doesn't open unil 10 AM. I understand that you don't want kids screaming in there at 8 AM but there were 4 people waiting to swim laps the morning I was there. Four, the patio area outside my room was right next to a smoking room. I had to go in TWICE because of the smell. One more thing, which is very picky, but the man who opened the pool/picked up the trash/ etc. didn't have a Red Lion shirt on. If I was traveling alone and saw some tank-topped guy wandering around I might get a little nervous.

In regards to room suggestions, ask for a room a bit away from the pool. We were right next to it, but there is a fence around the pool area. There are two gates, but to get to them I would have either had to walk right in front of someone's patio or all the way around to the building (I chose the latter). Grassy area next to the pool, between the building wings.

Room Tip: first floor but away from pool. You could sit on your patio and watch the kids at the pool if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volleymom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the feedback. We are happy to hear that your like the rooms and our location. We apologize that our Roaring Start Breakfast did not meet your standards. We continue to look at different options and improving the overall experience for our guests. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First of all I was quite nervous for our stay after reading reviews on here. So we had a wonderful stay and I would stay again anytime. We were extremely early for check in. We were traveling from Boise with 3 kids (11,9 and 5 months) I thought our drive would be longer because of the baby. Annalee greeted us with a smile and found us a room right away. We had wonderful customer service from her. The room was actually quite charming. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the pillows. I would buy those pillows if I knew where they got them. I want them for my bed at home. The yellow and purple walls were fun and fit in with the vibe of downtown Walla Walla. It was great to walk to all the shops and restaurants down town. The air conditioning was refreshing and the pool was well maintained. The breakfast saved us at least $40 and the kids loved making their own waffles. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaaamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Jaaamn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that a couple of "one off" reviews did not prevent you from staying with us. Annalee does provides customer service that goes above and beyond expectation. We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms, the pool and the breakfast. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We randomly decided to stay in Walla Walla on a Friday, and had our three dogs with us. My experience with Red Lions has been hit or miss, but this stay exceeded my expectations. The room was clean, and while the colors were pretty vibrant, I found the fact they had gone to extra effort to paint and make the room cheery were easy to appreciate. The room was really spacious, a/c was kicking, and the rate was really affordable. Front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly, and helped put us in a quiet room where we could keep our dogs quiet and calm. The pool looked clean, and was a nice feature although we didn't get a chance to use it. We didn't try breakfast, so can't really comment there, but for a place to crash, it was tops!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank swubaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Swubaqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind comments. Clean rooms, a good breakfast, and impeccable service is our constant goal for our guests and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Walla Walla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Address: 325 E. Main Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362 (Formerly Walla Walla Vineyard Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Walla Walla, right across from Whitman College, is the Walla Walla Vineyard Inn. Downtown restaurants, museums, wineries and shopping are located within steps of our entrance. The VA Medical Center is one mile, with other hospitals located within 1 mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walla Walla Vineyard Hotel Walla Walla
Walla Vineyard Hotel
Walla Vineyard Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing