We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redmond, Washington
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Marcus for two nights and we were exceptionally impressed with the service throughout our stay. Right from the minute we checked in the front desk Manager Jonathan Grant was one of the most welcoming, energetic and exceptionally professional managers I have come across. The room were charming, neat and comfortable. The location is ideal. Great hotel and value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BG_Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    294
    79
    43
    22
See reviews for
220
648
46
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

What ever may take you to Walla Walla.
Any reason is good except if you want to change it.
From the wholesomeness of its natural surroundings, to its education, agricultural and business roots.
Its people are kind and hard working.
The town is steeped in history and rich soil.
With the majesty of the Blue Mtns capped with snow lining the distant view.
To the sincerity of the local people.
The Marcus Whitman is a portal of hospitality for my wife and I and for the thousands of other fortunate travellers.
I will attempt to explain,
For myself, the reservations are easy. Jonathan has a fantastic staff.
As we check in and everything is ready. "It's always a person" you talk to.

You walk into the "Marcus" Any way you walk in , is beautiful. The lobby invites you to come in and start believing just a little, that quality, hospitality and the craftmanship of America is not lost.
I'd like to think its concentrated here.
If you like the hotel Del Coronado in San Diego, or the Davenport in Spokane.
The Marcus is for you.
We love the town, you walk and it is real. The stores are real and they are alive.
If you need to be entertained this is not your place. If you make your own day and you want a safe place and to be spoiled with fantastic flavors of life. DIg in. Have fun.

Key points.

Wine Destination spot. It caters to you. 100's of wineries. Maybe 1000's of vintners, spring summer fall for you folks.
Beer ... your in luck...

Aviation. Fly in, they pick you up. Nice airport.

Food. The town is full of East Coast and West Coast chefs..THEY WANT TO LIVE HERE!!! Fantastic. The restaurant or the town! Its pleasure of flavors are at every turn. James Beard chefs
Bakeries
French Restaurants
Choclatiers
Bistros
Breweries

Architecture...walk and enjoy.

Outdoor enthusiast...ask and you shall receive.

The Marcus Lounge. When was the last time you were treated like you had a personal bartender that makes your drink better than you can.

I treat myself to the "Marcus". I hope you get to enjoy it too.

Be nice, be polite, be thankful and be amazed at this little town.
I only touched a little bit of its goodness.

10+ nites in this hotel. . I hope you enjoy. MBL

Room Tip: The tower if you are a romantic or appreciate a little history. Suites are nice and comfortable. Gr...
See more room tips
Green Features: Been there 100 years. Whats more environmantally friendly than being a renovator of what you have.. It couldnt be duplicated without cutting down old growth or worse.. They kept and preserved the finest
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would highly recommend The Marcus Whitman to ANYONE traveling to Walla Walla, no matter what the reason. It’s elegant, historic and the service is top notch. It is important, if possible, to stay in the main tower opposed to the West Wing. The West Wing is still very nice, just not the “true” Marcus Whitman experience. The food is great (FREE BREAKFAST, AND IT’S GOOD!!!).

The only negative (if you have kids) is no pool. It still gets FIVE stars from me.

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT service!!

Travis Glendenning

Room Tip: Stay in the main tower.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good by my standards. But I can't say I'm an expert in the field. I know the conference center has an environmentally friendly focus, and like many hotels they give you the choice to reuse towels if you like...
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Rooms nice, hotel is lovely and staff very helpful. The Marc is walking distance to a quaint downtown with good resturants and wine tasting venues. Also of note is the Gesa Power House theater. We went to a Bourbon St. Celebration of jazz groups, dancing and great fun. Actually made it up to midnight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Took my boyfriend to the Marc' s chef's table for his birthday. It was a secret, my b\f thought we were going some place else for dinner. Jonathan Grant helped me plan and then made sure everything was just perfect in our room.. He went above and beyond to make it a success. Antonio Campolio and Dan McCaffrey out did themselves to make a great chef's table and the whole kitchen staff sang happy birthday to Sean when the birthday cake was served. The food was absolutely fantastic. And all the staff at the hotel kept the secret while we were there for the two nights. The Marcus Whitman Hotel is the perfect place to have a party or celebrate. And they always makes us feel like family when we stay with them.

Room Tip: If you have the time,a spa room is so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We ate dinner at the Marc on a Saturday night. It was very crowded, yet we had excellent service. The food was mouth watering, the scallops melted in my mouth. The wine connoisseur helped us chose the perfect wine to go with our meal, and then let us try out a few suggestions so we could chose exactly what we wanted. Definitely will go back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I left my purse (cash, credit cards, phone) hanging over a chair in the lounge. I realized it the next day and called. It had been found and sent to the front desk. They had tried everything they could think of a way to reach me (but, my phone was in my purse). EVERYTHING was still in my purse. I tried to figure out whom to tip, but the front desk folks said "that's our job" and didn't expect anything in return. The dinner and quality of service I had in the lounge that evening was exceptional (and I'm a foodie). To say the least, the service after the dinner was also exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#4 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 6 W Rose St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#3 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center - named "2015 Hotel of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 133-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing