We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here last month in the tower. the room was fantastic, very quiet. The hotel is within walking distance to most downtown wineries. We had dinner there twice and it was fantastic. I thought the breakfast buffet was terrific. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I expressed an interest in the architecture of this 1928 building and the front desk called James who took us on a brief tour. The otis elevator, period furniture, and beautiful lobby make this hotel unique and a great place to base wine tasting activities in Walla Walla.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed at the Marcus Whitman on several occasions, including quick business trips and an anniversary. The hotel, staff, service, and dining never fail to impress.

Rooms are well appointed, scrupulously clean, thoughtfully laid out and oh so comfortable.

Dining and drinks options from the appetizers and custom cocktails in the lounge to the full Chef's tasting menu with wine pairings are delightful and delicious.

The hotel is within walking distance to the attractive and fun shops and restaurants downtown, which make for a nice evening stroll and options for so low key entertainment as many of the local gastro-pubs offer live music at night. Wine tasting rooms abound in downtown, including several attached to the hotel. This is a great getaway hotel which also serves as a terrific, rejuvenating business stop.

Room Tip: Tower rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Convenient location while visiting Whitman College. Walking distance to school and downtown area. The Marc restaurant in the hotel has great food and we enjoyed treating our son's college friends to a nice dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My company had a 2-day conference here last week. Talk about perfect!! The hotel rooms were great, and the conference went off without a hitch. Not only was the food fabulous, but the service was top-notch. Even when there were changes in the plans, their comment was, "No problem," and they meant it. Each staff member was professional, helpful, and fun to work with. Many went above and beyond what was required, such as Chris, Andrea, Edie, Brent, Edson, Jonathan, and Therese. Will definitely hold another conference here again!!

Room Tip: Back of hotel away from 2nd Ave & Rose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

when my wife told me we were going to Walla Walla for our 35th anniversary is said "Where are we staying? The Marcus Whitman?". She asked how i knew and i said that it was by far the best place in town. Jonathan Grant and the entire staff made us feel welcome and special. i cannot emphasize enough how impressed we were. Our meal at the Marc was off the chart good and the room was fantastic. our sincere thanks to the entire staff for making a special occasion even more so. Cheers! Ed & Deborah Spencer, Portland

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRNilesandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a prime example of amazing customer service. Please read on. My reservation was for tonight (through Expedia), I thought. I was so excited to finally stay at the Marcus Whitman hotel. Every time I have been to visit Whitman College for my kids, this hotel is sold out. Tonight was the night I was finally going to get to stay at this landmark.

My husband and son waited in the car while I went to check in. I walked in to one of the most gorgeous hotel lobbies I had ever seen. It looked like a lot of important things had gone down here! On the other side of a lobby, a handsome man with a huge smile greeted me, as if I was a guest they had anticipated! I told him I was so excited to be FINALLY staying here. A bit of background on me..... I own a medical spa in Bellevue, Washington, and it is extremely difficult to find employees who value customer service. Right away....I wanted to steal this employee, fly him to Bellevue, and have him manage my entire office. After Jonathan was searching for my last name multiple times, and multiple times NOT finding it in the system, I started to get nervous that this hotel had made a terrible mistake. Finally, Jonanthan found my name NEXT Saturday.

Anyone in customer service knows that it is important to make the customer feel that they are ALWAYS right. However, this feat is rarely accomplished. While, I am POSITIVE that I am the one who made the mistake and clicked on the next Saturday in Expedia, Jonathan continued to apologize and say that this happens sometimes. Even after I looked up my confirmation email clearly stating the next Saturday, Jonathan continued to tell me not to worry and that he would make sure I had a place to say.

Jonathan checked on a few things at the Marcus Whitman, trying to figure out some way I could still stay at the hotel even though they were entirely booked. He kept telling me not to worry, as he gracefully also was able to help other people coming up to the front desk (not an easy task). After many attempts of trying to find a way to have my family still get a room, Jonathan proceeded to call other hotels and ask them for a "huge favor". He said, "I have a really great guest who needs a place to stay with her family and her very well-behaved dog" (side note: Jonathan didn't know anything about my dog and he is a pomeranian who is anything BUT well-behaved. He then proceeded to say, "If you help her, I will make sure and owe you one." I felt VERY special. A room finally was available at another hotel AND accepted pooches! I was in luck.

Like a skilled magician, Jonathan proceeded to pull out a gorgeous bottle or red wine. He gave it to me and asked me to please come back to the Marcus Whitman sometime. He handed me his card, asked me to call him personally, and that he would take care of me. All the while, he continued to have a smile ear to ear! He actually looked like he was enjoying his job---taking care of people. While this seems like a skill that should be abundant, it is not. Employees like Jonathan, at ANY level, at ANY type of business are rare.

It was just something about the way he handled this entire process; while I can't exactly put my finger on it,......I can safely state that Jonathan has the "X Factor" in superb customer service. And this type of customer service leads to successful business and repeat guests. I will definitely be one of those guests one day.

This is a prime example of how a mix up could have (and most likely without Jonathan, WOULD have) gone bad. I never write reviews but I felt compelled to do so this time. The Marcus Whitman has won the employee lottery by having this guy running their front office.

Thank you Jonanthan. Hopefully my son gets that theater scholarship at Whitman and I will be back many times over the years! Next time, I will make sure I don't go through Expedia but that I call you directly. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Washburn
Advanced Skin and Body Solutions
Bellevue, Washington

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 6 W Rose St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1870
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#3 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range: £96 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center - named "2015 Hotel of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 133-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing