We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch service and accommodations”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Recently a group of nine women traveled to Walla Walla to celebrate a major birthday. We stayed at the Marcus Whitman Hotel for 3 nights and were delighted with every aspect of the hotel. Not even expecting it, we were greeted by a van at the airport and whisked to the hotel. The moment we arrived we were met with courteous and knowledgeable staff. Our rooms were pleasantly decorated and modern (it's an old hotel!). I know I speak for all nine of us in singing the praises of the hotel and really the whole town of Walla Walla.

Green Features: Well, they don't recycle...a negative...at least not plastic bottles.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,131
    316
    87
    45
    24
See reviews for
247
711
49
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went here for Valentines day and enjoyed their special package that included dinner. When we got to our room there was sparkling wine chilling and chocolate truffles. So nice. The hotel room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning which was a great buffet with real food. Nothing was from a box. So yummy.

The dinner was the best. We enjoyed a great waiter who took care of everything and made great recommendations. We had wine paired by him with every course even dessert. The food was outstanding. We still talk about how much fun the dinner was that night.

Room Tip: Stay in the historical tower. They have a nice view of the town, especially the higher the floor yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadieM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great place to stay and hotel staff was outstanding . We stayed in the older part of hotel, which the room was very nice but had some traffic noise which is expected in a downtown hotel. The staff was very helpful and polite. The afternoon cookie plate with refreshments in the lobby was a nice added touch. We had a delicious dinner there which was convenient as we didn't have to leave the hotel to find a place to eat.. Dining in the vicinity of the bar area was a little loud . Breakfast which was included in the room rate was exceptional and had a very relaxing atmosphere in the dining room . The price is a little more than what we usually pay, but the extra $$ was worth it to stay in a lovely historic place . Tip: Stay during the week and check the website for a manager special as this was quite a savings compared to weekend rates.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the hotel one other occasion and preferred the newer section as less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jO1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the newer building, the room was average. Clean, and practical. Wish we would have stayed in the older hotel to get the full effect of the beautiful architecture. The restaurant and bar are very nice. The health room is poor. Overall decent option that is below potential.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we showed up to the moment we left everything was excellent. Service was stellar and accommodations were great. Jonathan G was exceptionally helpful throughout our stay! The restaurant has excellent food, drinks and service. Matthew and Brittney were very knowledgable, friendly and helpful in the bar (where we ate and drank on multiple occasions throughout our stay).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

In the heart of downtown Walla Walla, the Marcus Whitman makes you want to add a night to your Walla Walla stay (and we did). Elegant old hotel whose rooms have been well-maintained and updated. Exceptional service all around, including great ambassadors for Walla Walla. (Thanks Jonathan, Jeremy, and Therese for helping to make our stay special with great service and sightseeing/dining recommendations.)

We paid for a suite upgrade and felt it was well worth the value for what we paid ($200/night, mid-week). The suite was a welcoming and comfortable place to hang out a bit between when the tasting rooms and shops shut down (around 5 pm) and before heading out to some of Walla Walla's excellent restaurants. Nice plus to have a fridge in the room.

To our surprise, breakfast was included for every hotel guest. It is an excellent hot buffet breakfast (possibly the best free hotel breakfast we have ever had) easily adding value to room of $15/person.

Our only complaint was that the beds could be updated a bit. Linens and pillows were not as luxurious as many other hotels of this class.

But the Marcus Whitman is a wonderful hotel that will make your stop in Walla Walla a special one. Definitely recommend this hotel as THE place to stay here!

Room Tip: For not that much more, you can often upgrade to a suite. It might be worth the splurge, particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While we expected the 'Marcus' to be above average for our visit to Walla Walla, we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms, the hotel itself, the excellent service and accomadations of the ENTIRE staff, from check-in, dinning and cleaning room sevices! We have traveled considerably and this hotel meets and exceeds the most discriminating tastes. Friendly, helpful and showing pride throughout!

Room Tip: We satyed in a 'executive King room' located in the 'tower'..try for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 6 W Rose St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#3 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center - named "2015 Hotel of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 133-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing