We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Blackberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 12 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The food was excellent. The house was very comfortable with large rooms and was very clean and quiet. We loved having fresh baked cookies available any time we wanted. They were AMAZING!! Barbara was a wonderful hostess. She was very available but never "hovering".

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keast0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

Not only an excellent location in Walla Walla close to wineries and a variety of restaurants, but beautifully decorated to achieve a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere, The breakfast was excellent with many choices. Fresh coffee and tea, as well as delicious cookies were always available. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

From arrival until departure, Barbara provided an extremely welcoming and comprehensive helpful service, not least her imaginative breakfasts. Cezanne's Sanctuary was elegant and extremely comfortable with several thoughtful touches ie chocolates, mineral water, soft drinks and the beautiful robes.

Our reason for the visit was the Walla Walla wineries and the Whitman history. Both these exceeded our expectations and have certainly motivated us for another visit. Our favourite feature was the patio and the lush grounds - so pleasant to sit and drink a glass of wine and we also appreciated the ambiance of the house with the piano in the lounge and elegant decor. There is nothing we can think of we didn't like and we feel it would be unfair to try and find something.

Finally, as we love fine dining and good wine, we enjoyed several of Walla Walla's excellent restaurants and, again, Barbara's guidance in recommending and making reservations was invaluable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Inn at Balckberry Creek is a true gem. It is a beautifully restored home on 2+ acres in Walla Walla. The rooms are beautiful, as are the grounds. The views of the gardens from the rooms are wonderful. The innkeeper lives close by and not on the premesis which is a plus. The day rooms are beautful and the host is a wonderful cook which makes everything about perfect. She is also a long time resident and is knowledgable of the area and the local wineries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

For our first trip to Walla Walla, we consulted Trip Advisor and the Inn at Blackberry Creek was an obvious choice given its position at the top of the ratings heap. We were not disappointed.

Upon our arrival, we were met by Sue who welcomed us with warm snicker-doodle cookies, fresh coffee, and a friendly attitude. She was a huge help during our trip as she gave recommendations on places to see and places to eat. Also, she was in charge of preparing the amazing breakfasts that we enjoyed each morning! There was fresh-sliced fruit each day along with a menu to choose other items, all of which were prepared fresh.

When we got to our room, I was amazed at how clean it was. I have stayed in MANY hotels for business trips, and while some may be clean, there's always a little something that gets missed. I am extremely picky, and let me assure you - NOTHING was missed here. Absolutely the cleanest room I've ever stayed in, period.

My wife and I found the bed to be very comfortable, and the room itself was very cozy. We stayed in the Monet room, and while others on Trip Advisor have complained about frogs at night, we had no problems. The house also has many comfortable places to sit and read, although we didn't get a chance to take advantage of this because of our limited time.

With more time, we would have taken advantage of the complimentary bicycles; Walla Walla is a great bike town. Though our time was short, we were satisfied with the time we spent on the grounds of the Inn. Absolutely beautiful landscaping. Each morning after breakfast we would take our coffee down to a little bistro set by the creek and read. It was so peaceful. Next to the creek are some very large blackberry bushes which we would have devoured had they been ripe!

We spent much of our time driving around to the various wineries and touring the quaint little downtown area. It's such a charming little town, and the wine is world class. We live in Washington about 3 hours away from Walla Walla, and we kicked ourselves several times for never making the drive before. We will definitely be back, but we wish it could remain as Washington's little secret!

Our restaurant experiences were mixed, but there was a CLEAR favorite for us: T. Maccarone's. Awesome food, and the desert was ridiculous (that's the only word I can come up with). It was carrot cake with an orange cream cheese icing. I can't possibly do it justice with a write-up - you'll just have to try it. We were going to order something different, but our server wisely guided us to this delectable treat, and I have never tasted anything like it. Amazing. The owner, Tom, is great fun, the restaurant was packed (not a surprise given that no matter who you ask in town, they all recommend this place), and our server was awesome, which made for an unforgettable evening.

We also tried Creektown Cafe, and we didn't think it lived up to the hype. My wife ordered the Crab Cannelloni and I had the Lavender Braised Lamb. The crab dish was drenched in a cream sauce that was much too sweet and overpowered the natural sweetness of the crab. The sauce also had a strong nutmeg flavor that made it taste more like a dessert custard than a cream sauce. My lamb was okay, but I would probably recommend something different. Our appetizer, however, was great - a hummus and baked artichoke dip platter that was very satisfying. After all was said and done, we had spent around $100 with no dessert and only water and Diet Coke to drink (we didn't feel like any more wine!). To some of you this might not be much, but for us, a $100 meal should leave us feeling more than satisfied, which this did not.

We hit the classic hamburger joint, the Ice-Burg Drive-In on our last day, and it's a must-do for anyone visiting Walla Walla. Great burgers, and the shakes are amazing!!! Fresh fruit delivered each day, and you can mix different ingredients to come up with your own masterpiece. My wife had a hot-fudge, banana-nut shake that was like drinking a banana split through a straw - unreal!!

Upon our departure from the Inn at Blackberry Creek, Sue handed us a nice little travel bag that she had made for us with water, a thank-you note, and of course some extra cookies for the road. We could not have imagined a better experience, and we can't wait to get back down to Walla Walla. We trust that like us, you will not be disappointed in your stay if you choose Blackberry Creek. Aside from our honeymoon, it was probably the best "hotel" experience we've ever had. Great job Barbara, Sue, and Carlie!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmmrjammr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Country feel but in town, a lovely home that is beautiful, comfortable,and inviting. The hostess, Barbara, is exceptionally accommodating and helpful. The entire B&B was very clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was scrumptious, and there were also yummy snacks to curb our late-night munchies. Also, as frequent travelers, we have learned to greatly appreciate niceties that might seem minimal, and this B&B soars with flying colors: room included full-sized soft bath towels, a small fan to provide white noise (not that the Inn was noisy by any means, but it masks spouse's snoring!), an array of pillow types (from flat to fluffy) so both of us found pillows for our preferences, a small refrigerator in the room pre-stocked with a few beverages but also room for us to store some goodies, and there is even "real" toilet paper rather than the scratchy sandpaper that has become commonplace in many hotels. And even though we were on vacation, the free wi-fi in our room was a bonus for researching restaurants and wineries. We highly recommend the Inn for anyone seeking a cozy, quiet retreat in Walla Walla.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This was our second time staying at the Inn at Blackberry Creek and the first time for our traveling companions. It was fabulous last time and exceeded our expectations this time. Rooms are well decorated, extremely clean with great amenities and very comfortable beds. The grounds are beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful. And the breakfasts are terrific!!!

I would highly recommend the Inn at Blackberry Creek.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unknownCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walla Walla
1.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
23.8 mi away
The Weinhard Hotel
The Weinhard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dayton
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Blackberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Blackberry Creek

Address: 1126 Pleasant St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range: £111 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Historic Property with modern ammeneties decorated in the English Country Style. The Inn is situated on approx. two acres of rolling lawns and large shade trees. This very private facility is totally dedicated to guests, all rooms have king beds/private baths, TV,VCR,Mini Fridge, Electric Fireplaces, One room has private hot tub and private deck. One Suite has a private hot tub and garden, and a small kitchen. Two blocks from pioneer park, close to downtown, wineries and Whitman College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing