We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone”
Review of Rooks Park

Rooks Park
Ranked #17 of 102 things to do in Walla Walla
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We recently rented out the shelter at rooks park for our rehearsal dinner for our wedding so we could have a BBQ. To rent the shelter is $50, but just visiting the park is free. There's a play structure for kids, a sand volleyball pit, lots of picnic tables and secluded areas, and hiking/biking paths. Just a short walk away is Bennington Lake, which is ok. Last time I saw it, it was really low, however. The park is well cared for and very peaceful! I love going there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great trails, quiet, worthwhile”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

good chance to get out in the hills and work off the great wine and food that Walla Walla has to offer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bennington Lake”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I didn't see Bennington Lake (The Reservoir) listed in my search of Walla Walla, and since it is the neighbor to Rooks Park I decided to mention it here. The two are connected, so perhaps related after all. I am very thankful to have such a great resource in our area. They have a variety of trails with multiple types of terrain (gravel, dirt, single track, double track) along with hills which makes for a good work out for walkers, hikers, cyclist, and horseback riders alike. They have done a lot of improvements to the trails in the past year or two and now there are more options for winter and rainy seasons to avoid all the mud. As a horse owner there are not a lot of places to go to ride that are public trails (Madam Dorian also comes to mind). This one at certain times of the year also offers a place to train your horse for water crossings. The lake is also used by people who want to fish or take a boat out for the day. A most enjoyable place for all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank starfroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, WA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A US Army Corps of Engineers Park named for a US Naval Hero”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I will tell you a little about the park after an introduction to Capt. Albert H. Rooks. Capt. Rooks was born in Eastern Washington and went to school and lived in Walla Walla for several years. Eventually he became Captain of the USS Houston just before WWII broke out. On February 28, 1942 he was in a battle in the Sunda Straights, outnumbered by dozens of enemy ships and with very small chance for the survival of his ship and crew. He attacked the enemy and succeded in causing many causualties before his ship was finally sunk. It is one of the most inspiring stories of WWII. Posthumously he was awarded the US Congressional Medal of Honor. There is a small interpretive display behind the restrooms at the park.
The park has picnic facilities for large groups, lots of parking, is well maintained, and is also a starting place for great hikes around Bennington Lake. There are many interpetive bulletin boards around the park where you can find maps and brochures about the trails and other activities offered by the Corps of Engineers.
I it is the off-season and you find the park closed, you can still park outside and hike through the facilities. If you want to see some of the natural and man-made adjustments to the land around Walla Walla, this is your place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Itswoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
583 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Lots of hiking trails and dog parks”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just on the edge of town. This is a great area to picnic and hike. There is an off-leash dog park area too. There is a small lake (reservoir) with a boat launch, but often it is quite low.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rooks Park also viewed

 

Been to Rooks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing