We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.”
Review of Grandmas Kitchen

Grandmas Kitchen
Ranked #20 of 135 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

As one reviewer states, they started selling their food at the Downtown Farmers Market, pressing each tortilla to order. It is wonderful that now we can eat their great food more than 1/2 day a week. Grandma doesn't speak English, and sometimes their helpers struggle with English, but worth struggling thru the language barrier. Manny works full time at another job, besides working here in his "spare" time.
The pork is fantastic, as is the hibiscus tea. Obviously not your normal "Mexican" restaurant, with melted mystery cheese, etc.
and then you go next door to Colville St Patisserie for dessert!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank r-from-w2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, but not Great overall”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch one afternoon as we pulled into Walla Walla for a long weekend. Was really looking forward to some authentic Mexican food. Overall, the experience was good (not great). I sampled the beef, chicken and pork tacos and my wife had the pork burrito. I"d say the food was good to great, depending on the item. We loved, loved, loved the pork, and the beef and chicken were good. The owner came out to say hello and was very friendly, but the other server was slow and forgot a couple times things we had asked for. She was apologetic and nice, but saw her forget another table's request for water (same as us). Tighten up the service and this would be a much better rating. I'd go here again to eat, but I wouldn't go too far out of our way to go there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nwwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place, really good food!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at this place and it was great. Traditional mexican food in a very nice location. My wife had the burrito with vegetarian filling (the one with Prickly Pear Cactus) which was very good. I had fish tacos that were great as well. We had both Agua de Jamaica and Horchata, very refreshing!

Staff was really friendly. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank juancuribev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

food is so delicious and authentic! The hibiscus tea is quiet refreshing. Menu options are quite filling.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Place, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a yummy burrito! I ordered the veggie burrito with cactus, fresh pico, avocado and all the rest. Wow, this was really good! Fresh! The gal in line in front of me told me she tried them last week and has been craving their food all week. I would agree with her. I will crave this place until I return! And the service was excellent. Super friendly guy made my food and chatted with me while he worked. Such a treat, a good personal touch. There are a lot of greasy, heavy Mexican places in Walla Walla that I don't much enjoy. I enjoy Dora's Deli at the Worm Ranch. But this place is different completely. I will continue to enjoy both. This place is definitely more affordable. My burrito was $6 and change, with chips and two small salsas. Excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandmas Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Grandmas Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing