We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for wine tasting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for wine tasting!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd trip to Walla Walla and maxwell house for wine tasting. Penny has gone out of her way on each trip to make our stay exceptional. The location is within walking distance to downtown tasting rooms and dining. Penny has great tips regarding local attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts were supurb and we enjoyed relaxing in the backyard with our wine by the fire pit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pohMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My wife and I regularily stay at B&Bs and this is one of the best we have stayed at. Penny is a wonderful host and her house is beautiful. The rooms are clean and very comfortabe and the breakfasts are delicious. We would highly recommend this B&B to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickvancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2011 for our anniversary. WE had such a wonderful time and Penny was so nice. Her breakfast was amazing and when we asked if there was anymore she gladly whipped up another batch of french toast. We like it so much that when my mom wanted to have a mother daughter weekend I suggested Walla Walla and The Maxwell House. Again, Penny exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Rose ROom. I loved the claw foot tub and they bed was very comfy.
My husband and I are taking a much needed weekend away later this month and we are once again staying at the Maxwell House. You can't beat it and you won't find a nicer inn keeper.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCouch272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I LOVED our stay at the Maxwell House B&B. We were there for a weekend getaway to enjoy some golf and wine tasting. The location is great, only a short walk through the Whitman campus to get downtown. We were very impressed with Penny's hospitality. She was very accommodating to us and made breakfast for my husband and I early both mornings enabling us to have early tee-times. Her breakfasts were amazing! We loved all the local ingredients and wonderful fruits. Penny was also quite helpful with restaurant and winery suggestions. And after a day of golf, wine tasting and a great dinner, we very much enjoyed sitting outside the B&B taking in the beautiful surroundings and peacefulness of the Maxwell House. We highly recommend it and will hopefully be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleCooke_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maxwell House. We spent a weekend in Walla Walla and were impressed with Penny's (the owner) warmth and hospitality. She made us feel welcome and part of the Walla Walla community. She spoiled us with amazingly delicious breakfasts and homemade cookies and provided wonderful recommendations on activities, wineries, restaurants, etc. We highly recommend the Maxwell House as a terrific place to stay in Walla. Penny has cruiser bikes for guests to use to get around town, the house has a wonderful flower-filled yard with lots of places to sit and relax, and it's steps from the Whitman campus and an easy walk to downtown and other attractions in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ravishing rose room with a delightful view of the backyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at the Maxwell House during Whitman College 2012 graduation. Penny was an amazing hostess. The room, sitting room, and bathroom were well decorated and immaculate. The common room and dining area were also lovely. The breakfast was delicious! Best of all, it is less than a 5 minute walk to Whitman College, which makes the Maxwell House the perfect place to stay for college visits, family weekend etc. Wine tasting is also very close as vineyards surround Walla Walla. A great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takoma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had such a wonderful time for the three nights we stayed at this place. Coffee, tea, and cookies were available at all times. The breakfasts were phenomenol. We were served gourmet versions of apple pancakes, sausage, fruit, egg casserole, waffles, etc.

The inkeeper, Penny, was absolutely wonderful and accommodating.

The house is conveniently located in a sweet neighborhood and is an easy walk to downtown Walla Walla.

We stayed in a spacious room with a queen sized bed that was incredibly comfortable with great linens and a very nice bathroom.

The house was updated while still maintaining a classic, elegant decor. The House also has at least three cruiser bikes available for guest use.

We will definitely stay here again when we are back in town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtleBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#4 of 15 in Walla Walla
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 701 Boyer Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast is located in a delightful neighborhood in Walla Walla. Shady trees line the streets of this quiet neighborhood, close to the downtown area and historical district. Carefully decorated rooms that delight your senses invite you to relax and settle in for a wonderful stay. Delectible meals, pleasant hospitality and comfortable ambiance will put The Maxwell House as a memory to be returned to again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing