We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Spent 3 nights in this B&B while enjoying Vintage Walla Walla, a fun wine event held annually. Penny was a most accommodating and gracious host. The queen bed was extremely comfortable and dressed in quality linens with a featherbed and down comforter and down pillows. The en suite bathroom had a great tiled shower with fluffy towels and nice bath products. The fresh daily rose from Penny's garden was a nice and appreciated touch. With all those positives, I would have to complain that the tiny sitting room had no comfortable place to sit and read and was dark. There were no drawers, so we had to leave our suitcases out and the small wardrobe which stood in for a missing closet was not very convenient. A few changes in the furnishings and lighting could make this a much more comfortable place to stay. That said, the downstairs living room with fireplace was lovely and we probably could have used that. The location (a block off the Whitman College campus and 4-5 blocks from downtown) was fabulous and in a sweet, tree-lined neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PDXpopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2007

The Maxwell House B&B in Walla Walla was the perfect retreat for our "Girls Weekend Getaway". Upon our arrival, Penny, the innkeeper, did an outstanding job of making us feel at home with fresh baked cookies and coffee or tea of our choice. We found ourselves hanging out on the front porch lounging in the adirondack chairs and listening to the fountain. After in evening out in one of the wonderful restaurants within walking distance, we headed to the backyard for some girl talk by the firepit with the sound of another fountain nearby. When it was time to be inside, the attention to detail was not forgotten. From the richly colored walls and classic furniture pieces to the comfortable beds with luxurious linens, nothing was left without attention. Each one of the bedrooms has a different feel and the bathrooms are clean and modern with thick towels and plush robes. One of the rooms has a clawfoot tub that looked like you could take a long romantic soak in it. The tree lined neighborhood was quiet with beautiful older homes that made a morning walk delightful (and safe). Walking to the downtown shops and restaurants was very easy and scenic as you pass through the Whitmore College campus. Not to be forgotten was the amazing breakfast that Penny made fresh each morning with local berries from the area.
I highly recommend a stay at the Maxwell House.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

The Maxwell House B&B is an elegant and perfectly furnished historic home on a charming street near downtown Walla Walla. The house is just down the street from the beautiful campus of Whitman College. It is truly a charming setting.
Our bedroom was inviting, comfortable and well equipped.The bed and linens were top quality. The bathroom was modern with a great shower and plenty of towels.
Penny, our hostess, was warm and gracious. She made us feel welcome and comfortable. The cookies in the afternoon were too good! Breakfast was delicious with wonderful Walla Walla fresh fruit.....plus tips on where we could buy fruit. It was easy to see that Penny loved what she was doing. We highly recommend this B&B!!!
truckee07

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank truckee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Our stay at the Maxwell House B&B was better than any 5 star hotel!! My husband was a little nervous about staying in someone we did not knows house. But after the first night we are hooked. Debbie who owns the B&B is not only a wonderful host, but also a excellent cook. Everything is wonderfully done. They have thought of everything to make their guest comfortable. If you are in Walla Walla, WA, I would highly recommend staying here. I know you won't regret it.

Connie (Camarillo, CA)

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank lakerluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 701 Boyer Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range: £119 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast is located in a delightful neighborhood in Walla Walla. Shady trees line the streets of this quiet neighborhood, close to the downtown area and historical district. Carefully decorated rooms that delight your senses invite you to relax and settle in for a wonderful stay. Delectible meals, pleasant hospitality and comfortable ambiance will put The Maxwell House as a memory to be returned to again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing