We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ideal Base”
Review of Fat Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fat Duck Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Fat Duck Inn. Cynthia and Rich are delightful hosts and infused us with their local knowledge of food and wine each morning, in addition to a sumptuous breakfast, before we set out each day. The Inn is conveniently located to the downtown core with restaurants, wineries and shopping. Each night after exploring the valley we would walk to any number of restaurants. Three nights was way too short. We can't wait to come back and enjoy one of the Inn's special dinners. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucker_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We totally enjoyed our 4 night stay last month. Rich and Cynthia are marvelous hosts and serve a wonderful breakfast. The Pintail Suite was luxurious-loved the separate tub and shower. They advised us on restaurants and gave us route maps to the wineries. Even gave us the route to bicycle to the winery area which was only about 9 miles away from the Fat Duck. We would definitely stay again if we return to Walla Walla. Superb place.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and easy access, the Pintail is worth the extra money. Bedroom with large sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adobehomesrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Whether you are attending a Parents Weekend, Orientation, or other events at Whitman University, or staying in Walla Walla to sample their many wines the Fat Duck Inn is the best place to stay. The amenities are great, located in a quiet neighborhood within an easy walking distance to the University, or the downtown tasting rooms, restaurants and shopping. Chef Rich is very accommodating to special dietary needs, and provides an outstanding breakfast! He also has very accurate wine recommendations to stimulate your tasting palate! Will make an effort to return to the Fat Duck Inn soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location (5-10 minute walk to downtown) and cozy accommodations run by two wonderful people. The breakfasts were delicious and accommodated my food restrictions (i.e., vegetarian).

Not sure when we will make it back to Walla Walla, but when we do we plan to stay at the Fat Duck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed Rich and Cynthia's hospitality for a few days this summer. They are the type of hosts that we enjoy, warm, knowledgable but not at all intrusive. The breakfasts, location and room couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portlandkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Cynthia and Rich do a fine job of providing you with all the cozy comforts of home, genuine hospitality and they do so with grace and unobtrusiveness. Not only is Rich a world class chef, his passion for food and wine is immense, and he imparts his knowledge of the local wineries generously and shares with all his guests. Cynthia is always happy to help with any requests.
The Inn is clean and comfortable. My only complaint about this cozy home is that we ran out of time. The special Wine Pairing Dinner was delectable and if you have the chance, don't miss one of Rich Koby's events. Maria and Don C. Carlsbad, CA

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Fat Duck Inn. This second stay was as good as, perhaps even better, than our first stay. The Inn is clean, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The Inn is also just a short three block walk from downtown. The food, prepared by Chef Rich is excellent. The breakfasts were very good with a different frittata prepared each day. We also participated in the Wine Dinner expertly prepared by Chef Rich, with excellent wine pairings for each course. The Inn is warm and inviting and Cynthia makes you feel right at home. Rich is an excellent source of where to go in Walla Walla, not just for the food, but for the best wines. None of his recommendations steered us wrong, although our pocketbook is whining a little :-) You really cannot find a better place to stay in Walla Walla.

Room Tip: The Pintail Suite on the main floor is quiet, spacious, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.7 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Duck Inn

Address: 527 Catherine St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range: £72 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Duck Inn is a remodeled Craftsman gem in the heart of the Washington Wine Country. Chef-Owner serves seasonal, farm-to-fork dinners. Located on one of Walla Walla's historic tree-lined streets, moments from downtown & Whitman College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing