We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fat Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fat Duck Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary for 3 days in Walla Walla golfing at Wine Valley and staying at the Fat Duck/Widgeon room. Our stay was most relaxing. The hosts, Cynthia and Rich are knowledgeable and pointed us to some good restaurants because Rich is a chef himself. The breakfasts were very tasty, perhaps a bit on the light side. We found the inn to be impeccably clean. The satiny sheets were a nice touch. The inn is located in a quiet and beautiful older district of town. Many of the 100 year old homes are fixed up and nicely landscaped. Writing this makes me miss it and want to go back.

Room Tip: The Merganser suite is the choice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    18
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
122
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Pintail Suite at the Fat Duck Inn. The suite was very nice with a sitting area and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi. The location was perfect as we cod walk to town for wine tasting and dinner. Cynthia was very helpful with recommendations and directions. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast outside on the terrace. Richard made frittatas with bacon and gruyere cheese and popovers.
We hope to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifoniaMO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the FatDuck while doing wine tasting and it was perfect! It sits in a great walking neighborhood and a easy walk to downtown, parks and the college. Cynthia was a great host and our meal that was cooked by Rich was so good! He did a great job pairing our food with great wine from SuLei, and it was a beautiful night so we got to eat on the patio. Then breakfast, also cooked by Rich was very nice. It felt very warm and comfortable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randip97206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary recently at the Fat Duck Inn. Everything about the place was outstanding. Both Cynthia and Rich took the time to make sure we had a great time. We had the great opportunity to be visiting during a wine tasting dinner with Rich as the chef. Do not miss the opportunity to be there for one of the dinners. It was probably one of the best meals my wife and I have had! Thank you Cynthia and Rich for the fun weekend. I especially thank Rich for the time he allowed me to hover over him in the kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manningtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemagnuson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Fat Duck is a well appointed B&B with clean and spacious rooms and kind and knowledgeable hosts. We spent a weekend here with friends and our group took up 3/5 of the rooms. The B&B had several areas where we could congregate with our friends but was quiet enough that when we were in our own rooms we felt as if we had our own oasis. I would definitely recommend to anyone who is planning a trip to Walla Walla!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great accommodations.. Cynthia is a smooth hostess and Rich is very knowledgeable of the Walla Walla Walla wine scene. Not to mention that Rich is also a chef and the breakfasts were real treats. Next time we'll try the Fat Duck Dinner that Rich produces with local wine parings.

Room Tip: They are all great - we stayed in the Widgeon room that provides a lounge area outside the bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatduckWallaWalla, Owner at Fat Duck Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Fat Duck Inn. Next time you journey our direction we hope you join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had the opportunity to visit Walla Walla wine country for a few days last week, and happened on the Fat Duck Inn through a web search. Often with web searches, it's difficult to really know a place, but after calling and having a nice chat with Cynthia, the owner and hostess, we were sold! We were fortunate to have the choice of any of the five rooms in the house since we were there mid-week, and also to get the third night free since it was mid-week, so we picked the biggest room and were off to a great start on our trip.

On our way into town we stopped at Woodward Canyon winery and when we told them where we were staying they raved about the owner/chef (Cynthia's husband, Rich) saying that he was the best chef in Walla Walla! Now we were REALLY looking forward to our stay, and sampling his work at breakfast. And during our visits to wineries over the two days we were there, we learned that many have done wine pairing dinners with him, and they all raved about his work.

When we arrived on Tuesday late afternoon, we were greeted by Cynthia with a glass of wine which was quite welcome after a long day's drive from Gig Harbor. We really hit it off with Cynthia who made us feel extremely welcome and at home, almost as if we were long lost friends coming to spend a few days with them. She had terrific restaurant recommendations (Brasserie 4, Saffron, and White House Crawford, all of which we tried and all of which were wonderful) within walking distance in downtown Walla Walla.

The breakfast fulfilled all our expectations, and was quite unique with a baked frittata and fresh fruit, as well as freshly baked muffins, yogurt, and homemade granola. We chatted with Rich, who runs a catering business from his massive commercial kitchen attached to the house in the converted garage. He holds wine pairing dinners in the large dining room most weekends, and we wished we could stay the weekend and sample them, but our plans didn't allow.

We WILL be back, next time on a weekend so we can enjoy the wine pairing dinners!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pintail room the first two nights which is on the main floor and the largest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatduckWallaWalla, Owner at Fat Duck Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you Dick, it was truly a pleasure meeting the two of you. Rich and I would love to see you two again when you are back in Walla Walla. Please consider the Fat Duck Inn your new 'home away from home'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.7 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Duck Inn

Property: Fat Duck Inn
Address: 527 Catherine St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Duck Inn is a remodeled Craftsman gem in the heart of the Washington Wine Country. Chef-Owner serves seasonal, farm-to-fork dinners. Located on one of Walla Walla's historic tree-lined streets, moments from downtown & Whitman College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing