We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong smell of disinfectant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, MT
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Strong smell of disinfectant”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Lots of good things to say about this Best Western (location, safety, and adequate parking), but my abiding memory will be of disinfectant odors. It was immediately noticeable upon walking into the lobby. I then had to open the window of my room to let the overwhelmingly claustrophobic odor escape. And, lastly I enjoyed the distinct smell of bleach while eating breakfast. I don't have a overly sensitive nose.

Speaking of the window in my room, it was quite difficult to open. And all evening long I got to enjoy the sounds of people partying outside my window. This is a bit unavoidable, as the parking lot opens onto a late-night establishment and there were folks coming and going quite until quite late at night.

The room itself was large, plain, and in pretty good shape (only a few marks and scratches on the walls). The internet was reasonably good, but not overly fast. The TV remote was easily cleanable. The small refrigerator was quiet.

The breakfast buffet is quite extensive. In addition to juice, coffee, pastries, cereal, and toast, there is canned fruit, yoghurt, microwaved egg product, ham/bacon, and a waffle maker. There are clearly not enough tables for the number of guests staying in the hotel, but there wasn't a very long wait.

The bathroom is small, there was a touch of black mold, the bath/shower quite narrow, and the toiletries are bulk dispensers of dubious quality product.

Since it was a busy weekend in Walla Walla, the housekeeping were a tad lackadaisical. My towels weren't replaced, the toilet was cleaned and there were puddles left in the bathroom.

Lastly, as others have noted, dogs are particularly welcome at this hotel. Since the doors and walls are relatively thin, the occasional bark is going to be heard. If this disturbs you, then ask for a room away from the dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    210
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
144
189
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western in Walla Walla for the Celebrate Walla Walla Festival this past weekend June 21-23rd. Most of the hotels in the area were sold out, since this is a big festival bringing in lots of out of towners (including us), and we were lucky enough to snag a room here early enough. Compared to the other comparable price point hotels this place is a steal, and also compared to the higher end hotels, I still think we got more than our money’s worth. The place is very clean, albeit outdated, and the amenities are good. There is a complimentary breakfast included that is much more than a normal buffet of cold, stale pastries, they include fresh fruit, made to order waffles, hot items like sausage, bacon, eggs (of several varieties) and hash browns, as well as cereal, muffins/pastries and juice and coffee. The waffles were actually very good. My only complaint there is that the breakfast area is small and somewhat crowded so it can be a pain to maneuver around. Although I did not utilize it during our stay, they have a nice indoor pool area and workout facility. It is right in town so well within walking distance to all the great restaurants and storefront, which is great so you can avoid driving after a long day of wine tasting! There are also multiple wine bars/tasting rooms within a couple blocks for easy access. In the way of aesthetics, the hotel is lacking a bit, the bathroom is aged and the rooms are outdated, but again, for $100 a night, it is hard to beat the price, the location and the amenities. The beds were mostly comfortable and we got decent sleep to be sure. Each room is equipped with a fridge and microwave, which I think is great. They also have seating/couch areas and flat screen TVs. The rooms are not soundproof, we could hear the kid next door crying at times, but it wasn’t overly bothersome and we could only hear it in certain areas, so for the most part very quiet. Despite booking early and requesting specific rooms (i.e. quiet rooms away from the elevator, and King beds) we were given a room next to the elevator for one of our parties, and one room with two queen beds. Nothing too terrible but not preferable, especially since we not only made the request via the online booking site, as well as called it in and requested to a specific person who said they would note it and do their best. We will definitely be back to stay here, and would highly recommend it for the budget traveler who still wants comfort and amenities not skipped out on. I wish there were in-between ratings because I would totally say this is above average (3+ star!), but can’t quite justify the 4 star rating. All in all a solid stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room far from the elevator (especially since there is a room DIRECTLY next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrottingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Within about four or five blocks of town and a few wine tasting shops, this Best Western had the location we were looking for during our one-night stop in Walla Walla. It provides two things we consider to be non-negotiable: cleanliness and comfort. By this time we were approaching the final leg of a long road trip and feel we got great value for our money. The desk staff was very polite and helpful with directions and suggestions. Breakfast is standard hotel-continental, but good. Do we recommend the Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay while in Walla Walla. Good clean rooms with enough space for our dogs. We travel with two medium sized dogs and we are always looking for pet friendly. The hotel staff welcomes our pets and the grounds have enough green space that they can do their business. They don't offer pick up bags but that really isn't an issue. This hotel is the best pet friendly hotel in the Walla Walla area. We spend several weeks a year in the area visiting family.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakridge, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We came to Walla Walla for a wedding and found this hotel to be great! All of our party's rooms were very clean and everything functioning properly. The breakfast was good, the pool/hot tub and fitness room were all clean and welcoming, and the bed comfortable. The staff was very helpful, front desk AND housekeeping. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch33tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place is EVERYTHING you are looking from a budget hotel. Clean quiet rooms, courteous, knowledgeable staff. Proximity to downtown is excellent. Breakfast was great, coffee not so much. I was in town for a bike race and they were very accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Walla Walla.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to all be about the same for what I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.2 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Address: 7 E Oak St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1959 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#4 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#4 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walla Hotel
Best Western Walla Walla
Walla Walla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing