We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodations - relaxing stay”
Review of Green Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I selected Green Gables Inn based on previous guests' ratings and criteria I consider important - quality, comfort, and overall experience. It was an excellent choice. Several weeks before my stay, Innkeeper Alexis Buckley called to offer me a complimentary room upgrade. I stayed in the spacious Dryad's Bubble suite with its private balcony - nice for relaxing on a warm May evening. The bathroom contains a large shower with multiple options: overhead, handheld, and triple horizontal spray. Alexis was most helpful throughout my stay, offering restaurant recommendations and suggestions for winery visits. She provided her cell phone number to ensure guests are cared for. She and Chef Andi Bughi have an outstanding system in place for breakfast: guests are asked to fill out a card the evening prior to select their entrees. On my first morning, breakfast was served on the charming front porch overlooking the tree-lined street. The following morning, having been the only guest the night before, I was offered breakfast in the living room next to the fireplace. Green Gables Inn dates to 1909 and offers guests an historic, elegant, yet relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Explore the web site to select the best option meeting your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Green Gables Inn feels antique and homey without bring cluttered or run down. We stayed in the Idlewild room, which is spacious, with an enormous closet and a balcony with space for 6. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in besides my own. The breakfast was generous portions and imaginatively prepared. Have only good things to say about this gracious inn and its helpful, capable staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restless_in_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had our first long weekend away from the kids and our stay at Green Gables Inn really made it special. The room was spacious and well appointed. The main part of the inn was lovely and there was a great wrap around porch to hang out on. The inn keeper was very accommodating, even packing our cheese plate to go for our bike ride to wine country. The food was yummy. It's a short walk ( about 1 mile) to the center of town with lots of interesting restaurants and bars. We'd recommend this highly to anyone visiting Walla Walla wine country.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely 5 bedroom B&B in a quiet spot within walking distance to town. Home and grounds have lots of character, many open areas to relax in. Everything was well maintained and planned, and the breakfasts were quite creative and tasty. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite ample. The only negative is the wall or adjoining door between two rooms allowed us to hear more sounds from next door than I would have liked...but that's old houses for you.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely. We stayed in Willowmere... if you want a little more seclusion Mayflowers is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have enjoyed the comforts of many a B & B throughout this country as well as abroad, and are quite confident in recommending this one...The Green Gables Inn...as being one of the finest.

"Andy", our chef, outdid herself for our breakfast enjoyment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandlinda19178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really lucked out on our first visit to Walla Walla by choosing the Green Gables Inn. Located in a quiet neighborhood near Whitman College, it couldn't have been a better place to relax. We highly recommend asking for the Idlewild room - king bed, large & comfy room AND your own private porch to relax and read a book or sip a complimentary glass of wine! Alexis helped make our dinner reservations each night and even supplied written driving directions for where ever we wanted to go - not that one could really get lost in Walla Walla. Great time, great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSallyTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Despite being across the street from college housing on a weekend, this B&B was very quiet. Alexis was hospitable and efficient. It was amazing how we would have a leisurely breakfast and when we returned to our room, the bed was already made up and the room cleaned and smelling delightful. The breakfasts were plentiful, satisfying, and delicious. My husband particularly enjoyed the French Press coffee. My only negative comment is that on entering the inn, there is a noticeable musty odor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walla Walla
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Weinhard Hotel
The Weinhard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dayton
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn

Address: 922 Bonsella St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range: £117 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a home historic to Walla Walla. Green Gables Inn is a 1909 Craftsman mansion located in the Whitman College campus area and walking distance of Main Street, fine dining, and the valleys renowned tasting rooms and vineyards. The Inns five beautifully decorated bedrooms offer guests modern conveniences and old-world ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Hotel Walla Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing