We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavomatic - CLOSED

Lavomatic
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th Street
Description: Lavomatic is an urban restaurant and bar in the heart of the Gateway Quarter of Downtown Cincinnati. We also offer nightly dinner specials in addition to the regular menu.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We were just looking for a place with an open table in OTR, we may never eat anywhere else. I have never had such a hard time choosing what to order. Everything on the menu sounds amazing. After more than ten minutes of agonizing I chose biscuits and gravy. Just saying it was out of this world does not do it justice. I literally wanted to lick the plate. Book your reservation now!

Helpful?
Thank JTET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
335 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Awesome way to spend a Sunday morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our first trip to Lavomatic and the four of us in our party all vowed to come back, often and soon! We were there for Sunday brunch and it was wonderful -- started the meal with a flavorful Bloody Mary. We had a variety of dishes in our group: omelet of the day, French toast (but not your Mama's French toast by any means!), goetta Eggs Benedict and, traditional scrambled eggs with the best bacon you can imagine -- thick sliced, peppered seasoning. Delicious! We had to get 2 extra orders of bacon for the table! In the heart of the up-and-coming Over-the-Rhine section of Cincinnati -- don't miss it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food for the soul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our second visit to Lavomatic. Both times we have been impressed with the quality of the food, speedy and attentive service. On this trip I had the roasted pork loin and it melted in my mouth. The Truffled Tater Tots are comfort food on the highest order.

This is a busy, popular restaurant, so on a weekend call ahead for a reservation to or get on the wait list. And this is not a place for a romantic date, when is crowded it is noisy, but that is the sign of folks have a great time.

There are a lot of choice in the Over-the-Rhine area, but for us, Lavomatic stands out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbwayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited Lavomatic with a group of 8 at 6:00 yesterday (Saturday) evening. We just beat the dinner rush, which was great. The drink menu was fabulous - great selection of both wine and beer. We ordered a few appetizers, including the arugula salad (good - but could've used more dressing in my opinion) and the lamb goetta / octopus plate. Everyone at the table loved the lamb goetta, and the only guy at the table who likes (correction: loves) octopus said that was good, too. :) Several at our table ordered the burger, and all were satisfied. I tried/loved the curry dipping sauce for the delicious fries. My husband had the meat loaf with the amazing balls of goodness (tater tots is what they were called in the menu, but the are no Ore-Idas). We ordered some extra tots for the rest of the table they were so good. Two of us got the pork tenderloin, which was also very good (my friend doesn't even like beets, but liked the ones on this plate, and we both loved the pierogis). We ordered two of the desserts, as well. Two of the guys ordered the banana pudding, and one of us this dessert with pretzels on top (can't remember what it was called). The pretzel dessert in a cup was the most fabulous thing I've ever put in my mouth. We ordered two more for the table - everyone raved. The actual banana pudding was good, but something unfortunate happened with the shortbread it was sitting on - it was hard as a rock. We were laughing about it, and we're not in the least upset - but did give the server a funny showcase of not being able to saw into it with a steak knife.

I have to say that the service was wonderful and attentive throughout the dinner. However, what happened after the banana pudding incident was just the most caring and proactive display of customer service I've ever witnessed in my life. The server offered to replace the desserts for the two who ordered it, and did not charge the table for any of the dessert. The manager came and comped the entire meals of the ones who ordered the banana pudding. The dessert chef sent us a delicious sweet wine to apologize. We got coupons to return, and emphatically apologized to for the error.

The service here was stellar, almost beyond belief. The food is fabulous. The restaurant setting is very unique and fun. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skeptikrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Undistinguished”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

t had been years since my wife and I had eaten at Lavomatic. It was one of the first restaurants to open in the newly revitalized "Gateway Quarter" around Vine Street. The Chef, Jean-Robert de Cavel, had previously worked at the Maisonette before moving to his own restaurant, Pigalls. Lavomatic was one of several restaurants he opened with his partners. While Jean Robert was in charge, the food was always interesting and very good. Apparently he had a falling out with his financial backers and lost his restaurants. Lavomatic remained open but no longer had its cachet. We were disappointed when we returned shortly after Jean-Robert departed.

Fast forward several years. The Gateway Quarter is now booming. There are many new restaurants and shops, apartments and a fantastic park. Lavomatic survived and we assumed that with all the competition, it had improved. Alas, we were mistaken.

The space is attractive and the service was good. Only the food was wanting. We shared several small plates. All but the cheese and meat board were poor. The arugula salad tasted like it was prepared the day before. It certainly did not have the taste of fresh arugula. I assumed the zucchini fritters would be light and crisp. They were wet and heavy, more a dumpling than a fritter. The crispy brussel sprouts were as hard as rocks. We left much of the meal on the plates and went elsewhere for dessert.

Maybe the restaurant was having a bad day. Maybe there were tastier items on the menu. Maybe we were too critical. Whatever the cause, we did not enjoy our meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavomatic also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing