We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cincinnati gem for the whole family”

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #8 of 175 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's Museum & Special Exhibit Hall remain open during the restoration of historic Union Terminal.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Cincinnati gem for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We take our kids (6 and 9) to the Museum Center pretty regularly and everyone is entertained and educated by the various exhibits and activities it contains. And the architecture is simply stunning. Did you know the Justice League's headquarters (yes, Superman, Wonder Woman, et al.) from the classic cartoon was modeled after this building? If you're looking for a way to spend a day in Cincinnati, this should be among the top of your list no matter how old the people in your party are.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cf_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    370
    91
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Which museum to review?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

By my count, there are 4+ museums here. There's the Natural History museum which my kids love because there's a multilevel mock-up of a cave in there. (Watch where you step, the water there is real.) I could easily spend a couple hours there with my kids.

There's the Cincinnati History Museum that shows the city throughout history. There's a side-wheel packet boat in there and an 19th century town in there. I love all the old machinery, but my kids never want to spend enough time there.

Downstairs is the big draw for parents. The children's museum down there allows parents to sit and watch as children explore the ball room or the nature room. There have been many times I took my kids there and we never got beyond this museum.

The Museum Center was a major train hub years ago and is still a working train depot. You can visit a control room manned by people who know LOTS about trains and the museum center's history. There's a train bell that doesn't go more than a minute without being rung.
NOTR - You need to go up narrow stairs to get there and so it's not handicapped accessible.

There's an IMAX theater that has 2 or 3 shows rotating throughout the day.

And then there are the traveling exhibits; gold, Egypt, dinosaurs, etc. At the moment, they have an exhibit on Princess Diana.

If you like museums, this is a big draw. The Museum Center is easily a 3 hour trip. Longer if you have kids that get caught up in the children's museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

There is real history here at the Cincinnati Museum Center. Years of Cincinnati's history along with world history in a classic environment. Really cool!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had to opportunity to visit this museum on a boy scout overnight trip. I was impressed with what the city had done with an old train station. It is great for all ages. I would definitely recommend for locals and visitors.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrRodE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An "all around" wonderful Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It just took a few hours to enjoy this wonderful museum and then buy a year membership. Our family can enjoy going to this wonderful former rail terminal -- especially on rainy days and see the BEST Cincinnati has to offer of the past. Going to see the Diana Exhibit next week..Can't wait!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MomLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing