We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden find”

Cincinnati Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 175 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“hidden find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

didn't even know this was in town. sought it out after seeing a sign. we enjoyed the small, but professioal museum and it was free.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maryCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    193
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inspiring and humbling.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Having grown up here in Cincinnati and first having visited the Art Museum in grade school, and many times since then, I can honestly say that it is perhaps my favorite of all places in Cincy. THe sense of awe, the glory of beauty and the feeling of history surrounding us as a species is always with me when I am there. If you see nothing else duing a trip to Cincy you will not be disappointed in a visit to the Art Museum! I haven't been to other art museums elsewhere but I just know this one ranks high amongst them all. Not mention that is located within one of Cincinnati's loviest parks and near to the Krohn Conservatory so there would be much to do in one day spent in that area. See you there!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank colormerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool Art on a Hot Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a HOT afternoon strolling through only part of the Cincinnati Art Museum - it's HUGE!
Next trip, we plan to take a docent tour - to hear all the interesting stories and tidbits that you don't get walking through on your own.
Take a friend for a great afternoon - it's free! Even if you know nothing about art, you can always discuss what you like or what you see in any work.
There's a cafe or you can find a number of places nearby for lunch or dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of my favorite museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

The cincinnati art museum is wonderful
They have a large collection of all types of art with outdoor installations as well
It is well worth a afternoon or entire day to tour the museum, eden park, and mt Adams

Helpful?
Thank Travelfrquently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was my first visit to the CIncinnati Art Museum, and I was really impressed. The permanent collection was wonderful, with just the right amount of information offered about the various works. When we were there , we saw a temporary exhibit of Henry Ossawa Tanner's work, which was great. Lots of lovely things with connections to the Cincinnati area, including Rookwood pottery, beautiful wood carvings by Henry Fry and other Cincinnati carvers, and Frank Duveneck's paintings. And it was free! The museum cafe was reasonably priced and the food was excellent, two attributes that are rarely found in museum eateries. Highly recommend this wonderful museum.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nettiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing