We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum and Home Tour”

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
Ranked #33 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
489 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Nice Museum and Home Tour”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The site is located in a busy neighborhood. The site is on the smaller side, but well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    65
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Great Presidential Site, Sort of Hiding in Plain Sight”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

One great thing about the Taft home is that unlike a lot of presidential sites, you don't have to drive to the middle of nowhere to see it. But I also don't think it's very well known, so you might go past it many times without even knowing it's there. And it's a national historic site!

In my hometown, Indianapolis, we have the home of President Benjamin Harrison, and for some reason it seems to get a little more press than I gather the Taft home gets. Its location may be one reason for that. You have to use your imagination somewhat, because though the Taft home has been very carefully restored to its appearance during Taft's boyhood, it is closely surrounded - even tightly hemmed in - by a buzzing, modern urban neighborhood that includes the UC campus, Mount Adams and unfortunately, right behind the house where the Tafts' pasture once was, a sprawling judicial center.

But if you can get yourself inside the house with the door closed behind you, you are transported back to the time of Taft's boyhood. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable and the tour is quite extensive. Best of all, it's free, and probably much closer to whatever else you happen to be doing in Cincinnati than you realize.

A couple of tips. First, my visit was on a humid day in July, and the house is not air conditioned. It was bearable, but just a bit uncomfortable for me. So I agree with those who said that this would be a good Winter or cold weather day visit if you are sensitive to heat and humidity.

Second, several have commented on the tiny, insufficient parking lot next to the house. It IS tiny, and probably full when you get there. But there is a much larger auxiliary lot just behind and northeast of the house, accessed around the corner on a side street. If you know that additional lot is there, it's easy to get to, free, and connected to the house by a walkway. The tour entrance to the house isn't very well marked, but I found that you just want to go to the front door, and just walk right in.

Getting back to that large, modern judicial institution building that looms directly behind the house where the pasture once was - it occurs to me that it's strangely appropriate there. That's because Taft valued his career as a lawyer and judge, and his service as Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, much more than he valued being president. And he left a lasting positive legacy on the U.S. judiciary. So Taft was something of a "large judicial institution" unto himself. I guess that big building back there behind the house is strangely appropriate, after all.

I highly recommend this site!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JBIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Taft NHS is one of the best presidential homes I've visited. The young lady who gave the tour of the home was extremely well versed on her subject and was friendly. The Taft home has been restored to the time when the future president lived there and the guide will happily answer questions on any exhibits not included in the guided tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the National Park Service!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great site that showcases William Howard Taft's Birthplace and tells about his presidency. Small site, but guides are very knowledgeable and the house has two rooms that are decorated to that period of time. We visited because my son loves to collect the stamps and stickers of National Parks and National Historic Sites. We even got free ice cream at the end. The staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank k3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The national park service does it again”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I love to visit historical sites administered by the national park service. The guides are always extremely knowledgeable and tend to be great story-tellers. The sites are always kept in tip-top shape, and to top it all off, it's free.
The Taft site lives up to all of the above. You'll learn about Taft, but especially about his family as he grew up in Cincinnati. It's an interesting glimpse into the life of one of our lesser-known presidents.
There is a TINY parking lot on site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing