We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredibly poor internet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“incredibly poor internet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice hotel with very professional staff...the in-room internet is horribly slow. If you're Amish and don't need he internet...good hotel choice. Additionally, of the three treadmills, two were either inoperable or so poorly maintained that they could not be used safely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    173
    75
    25
    21
See reviews for
296
71
17
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights in June 2014 while in the area on business. I was sold a two queen bed room for $127 per night.

The property is located in a mixed commercial/residential area of Cincinnati, adjacent to both the university and medical center. The neighborhood is also a mix of renovated properties and some that have seen better days. I would be hesitant to walk in the neighborhood without being in a group.

It is obviously the latest generation Hampton. The exterior of the complex is typical for the brand. It is clean and well lit with adequate parking available at $9.00 per night. While not terribly expensive for an urban market, there was no mention at check-in of the parking charge. I was simply given a card to place in the dashboard and I learned of the charge at check-out. This is a management/staff education issue that could be easily remedied.

The lobby area is large, attractive and can accommodate sizable groups at check-in.

Check-in prompt as all documents were in order and correct. I was welcomed based on my HHonors level which is expected within the brand.

Elevator service was speedy with very little wait. Elevator cabs were found to be clean and in good repair.

Interior hallways were found to be clean, well lit and in good repair.

The sleeping room was clean, neat with furnishings and bedding typical for the brand. All electrical devices worked as advertised and charging outlets were plentiful.

The bathroom was found to be clean and well stocked with amenities typical for the brand. Water pressure was more than adequate delivery of hot water was speedy.

The room was quiet and restful during the night. This is recognized and appreciated.

Food service exceeded the brand's expectation. Breakfast was presented fresh and hosted by high quality, outgoing staff members. They truly seemed interested in delivering excellent customer service.

Check-out was a brief affair. I was thanked for my business and invited back. Again, indicative of good staff orientation and commitment to customer service.

I frequently stay at Hilton family properties and know what to expect. Although pricier than its brethren, this Hampton hits the mark on so many levels. Should the need arise I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was in town to help a daughter move to Cincinnati. Excellent service, delicious full breakfast, comfortable and clean. Plenty of parking. Never used the pool or workout area, but they appeared to be in good order. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
450 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a really nice, clean hotel by the University area and the hospitals. We had a nice, clean room with a good breakfast every morning. The front hotel staff was really great - all of them had excellent customer service. The parking is $9 a night. There is a pretty decent fitness center and also a computer at the business center. I thought it was one of the better Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding. This was the only centrally located hotel. Parking costs $9 a night to park in their lot. Rooms were clean, maid even came back one afternoon to tidy up room after we had slept in. Pool was a little cold but find for kids to splash around in. Only complaint is was at night there would be noise coming from ceiling vent by entry door, which was strange since we were on 5th (top) floor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank weagejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed there this April for her annual trip to Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. The beds were comfortable, the room temperature comfortable, the room clean and spacious, the internet was free. It was conveniently located to CCHMC and several eating establishments even within walking distance. My daughter was able to check out the UC campus, which was right across the street. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items, and I couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finlandadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We checked in, and our room had a noise like something was leaking on the floor in the room above us. The hotel's chief engineer checked the issue thoroughly - in our room, in the room above us, in the air conditioning units on the roof. He couldn't find any issues, apologized for the inconvenience, and offered to change our room, which we did. The new room was quiet, spacious, clean...and did I mention quiet? Request a room at the end of the hall...they are the quietest, we found. The breakfast buffet was impressive: scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit (beautiful fresh mixed berries!), hard-boiled eggs, grits, oatmeal, pastries and toast. The breakfast staff was kind, courteous, helpful and on a busy holiday weekend, seemed genuinely grateful for each guest. We would definitely stay here again. One thing to note when pricing the hotel - there is a $9 charge for parking each day.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the end of the hall - they seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingAdvice4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Address: 3024 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near everything you need, Hampton Inn Blue Ash/Cincinnati provides amenities and convenience for a comfortable stay. Learn about the area from the time you walk into our lobby filled with photos of local landmarks and places of interest. Whether you stay for one night or an extended stay, you'll feel right at home. Wake up to fresh coffee in the comfort of your own room, then enjoy our free hot breakfast served daily from 6a-10a. Our rooms offer one king- or two queen-sized beds. In each King room is a Sofa Sleeper for added comfort. Every room in the hotel offers a Microwave and Fridge for guest convenience - which is ideal for a family or group travel. For a quick snack, beverage, forgotten travel item, a good book or even Cincinnati Hometown Fan Favorite apparel, stop by the 24-hour Treats Shop located in the main lobby. Get in a workout in the state-of-the-art Precor 24-hour fitness center and finish those work projects in the 24-hour business center or refresh in the heated indoor saline pool. Whatever your need - we can meet it!! Explore Cincinnati attractions including King's Island Amusement Park, the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens and cheer on the Bengals at Paul Brown Stadium. Try your luck at Horseshoe Casino or take in a summer festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Hotel Cincinnati
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing