We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated, clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Booked a random weekend getaway and booked this Residence Inn based on Trip Advisor ratings/reviews. We were not disappointed! The location was within walking distance of the restaurant we wanted to visit. The interior was nicely updated. Every staff member we encountered was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our one bedroom suite was clean and the kitchen was well-appointed. We both enjoyed the included full breakfast and wide selection of options each morning. The patio/fountain area was a nice and serene outdoor space. I have no complaints! One piece of advice for penny-pinchers is that we declined valet service and instead opted for parking meter spaces. We didn't have any issues finding a spot all four times we needed one. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room you will need to feed the meter every 2 hours- pretty sure that was from 9a-4 or 5pm for us on Sat but we were out and about anyway so it didn't impact our stay and we were happy. Lovely stay all-around.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My spouse and I spent a long weekend at this property during Octoberfest. This may be the first time staying at a Residence Inn, and I couldn't be any more pleased. The rooms are very spacious is this converted historic property located on the eastern edge of the CBD. Walking virtually anywhere in the downtown area is very do-able. A family of four would find more than ample room to stretch out and be comfortable. The property is in great shape and seems to be well maintained. A breakfast buffet is offered for three hours each morning. I would suggest that the quality and choices are above average for a hotel breakfast buffet. The hotel offers an evening buffet on Tuesday-Thursday. All that being said, the greatest asset of this hotel is the staff. During our stay we probably encountered 30 employees and everyone was unfailingly polite and helpful. If there was anything they could do to make our stay a more pleasant one, they seemed willing to do so. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel was amazing. There are a few reasons I did not give it five stars. One was that the air conditioning in our room was awful. IT would make the living area freezing cold as we were hot all night in the bedroom. And the toilet was a strange design...not accessible...but too high. The room was big and looked nice. I loved the evening social hour...but with it being next to the bar, I am not sure how they could keep the bar clientele from partaking of the food. Would rather the bar have been somewhere else. And I do believe 20.00 for parking is too high. Plus...we were not given anything for being members of the reward program. I had thought we were to be given a drink token or something. SO...all in all...it has the potential to be the best hotel in downtown Cincy...but they do need to work on a few things. It was very close to the Great American Ball Park where Paul McCartney played. The bed was extremely comfortable...especially after being on our feet most of the day at the McCartney sound check and the concert and walking back and forth to the hotel. The valet was very friendly. The man making the food was great and the food was exceptional. All staff members were very friendly and helpful. The rate was rather high...probably higher than usual because of McCartney..which I might add was the most amazing concert EVER....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the time you walk in the door you feel like you are in a 5 Star hotel. You are always greeted when coming through the front door by door/valet staff and front desk personnel.

The hotel was updated in the last few years and the rooms have a lot of high-end furnishings and appliances.

When I called regarding an issue with the internet, I had a hotel tech representative at my door within 5 minutes. After determining the issues was related to the ISP, we got all ISP tech who got the entire hotel internet back to 6MB from .25MB within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Traveled to Cinci for Reds game with the family and location couldn't have been better! Upon arrival ALL the staff was very courteous and helpful, very personable. Hotel is very clean. Breakfast was very good - good selection. Would definitely recommend a stay here and plan to be back ourselves!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaseballFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed for a weekend with our two girls ages 15 and 10. The hotel was beautiful, comfortable and conveniently located. We walked to Great American Ballpark, and across the bridge to Newport on the Landing! We even walked home from Fountain Square one night . The hotel staff were super friendly (almost too happy :) even the hostesses at breakfast chatted with us, asked about our stay and were so nice. My husband travels for business and is a real fan of Residence Inn, but even he said it was the best, freshest breakfast he has ever had (for a breakfast included hotel). The lobby bar was really nice, but we chose to sit on the wide front porch that overlooks a small park one night for a drink. Really lovely spot in the middle of downtown - a little more quite and away from any wild nightlife, but still walking distance or quick cab ride if that's what you want to do! There is a pretty courtyard out back with a fountain and firepit (which we did not need - it was like 101 all weekend!
The room was very clean, spacious (two desks and of course the full kitchen) huge flat screen on a swivel base, and lots of room to spread out. The girls said the pull out was really comfy (which is rare). Everything was brand new, smelled good and was beautifully decorated. Bummer there is no pool, but apparently there is only one in all of downtown Cincy. We will go back for a family wedding in a few months!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I spent 5 days in a 2 bedroom suite with my family of 4. The room was spacious, the furnishings were new and well kept. The staff bent over backwards to accomodate the guests and the breakfast was well stocked. The courtyard was a great place to eat breakfast outside and to congregate in the evening. The hotel lacks a pool but has a nice workout facility. You can easily walk to all downtown sports stadiums, Fountain Square, Newport, KY (via the Purple Bridge), and many other destinations.
The hotel is very new. I hope that Marriott can maintain this level of service in quality, because the location is fantastic for travelers that need more space but want the "downtown" experience.

Room Tip: Become a Marriott elite member - upgrades are generally no charge
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,331 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,110 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cincinnati
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: £163 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing