We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel/great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel in July while visiting a special exhibit at the Museum center in Cincinnati. What a gem this hotel is. The location was within easy walking distance of one of our favorite restaurants at Fountain Square. We also enjoyed the architecture of the building and that of others in this lovely neighborhood. Our room, which, overlooked the park across the street, was spacious as others have indicated. The downstairs bar was a plus as well as the nice courtyard area. We will definitely book this hotel again. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderwoman076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

People was very nice and hotel was great didnt like valet 25.00 .but if u stay on sat after 5pm u can park on st and dont have to pay for valet.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rwhit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a terrific hotel, conveniently located downtown, within easy walking distance of Great American Ballpark, Bengals stadium, National Underground Railroad Center, etc. Rooms are spacious, with small kitchen, very nice sitting area, king bed, enormous flat screen TV. It has a very nice bar (with modest bar food menu). The complimentary breakfast is outstanding. Desk staff and valet parking staff are very professional, friendly and efficient. It's a little on the pricey side, but it's one of the few hotels in this price range I would say merit the expense.

The only negative was that the air conditioning didn't get the room quite as cool as we would have liked. It was a very moderate "negative."

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park (front) side of the hotel. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Booked a random weekend getaway and booked this Residence Inn based on Trip Advisor ratings/reviews. We were not disappointed! The location was within walking distance of the restaurant we wanted to visit. The interior was nicely updated. Every staff member we encountered was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our one bedroom suite was clean and the kitchen was well-appointed. We both enjoyed the included full breakfast and wide selection of options each morning. The patio/fountain area was a nice and serene outdoor space. I have no complaints! One piece of advice for penny-pinchers is that we declined valet service and instead opted for parking meter spaces. We didn't have any issues finding a spot all four times we needed one. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room you will need to feed the meter every 2 hours- pretty sure that was from 9a-4 or 5pm for us on Sat but we were out and about anyway so it didn't impact our stay and we were happy. Lovely stay all-around.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My spouse and I spent a long weekend at this property during Octoberfest. This may be the first time staying at a Residence Inn, and I couldn't be any more pleased. The rooms are very spacious is this converted historic property located on the eastern edge of the CBD. Walking virtually anywhere in the downtown area is very do-able. A family of four would find more than ample room to stretch out and be comfortable. The property is in great shape and seems to be well maintained. A breakfast buffet is offered for three hours each morning. I would suggest that the quality and choices are above average for a hotel breakfast buffet. The hotel offers an evening buffet on Tuesday-Thursday. All that being said, the greatest asset of this hotel is the staff. During our stay we probably encountered 30 employees and everyone was unfailingly polite and helpful. If there was anything they could do to make our stay a more pleasant one, they seemed willing to do so. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel was amazing. There are a few reasons I did not give it five stars. One was that the air conditioning in our room was awful. IT would make the living area freezing cold as we were hot all night in the bedroom. And the toilet was a strange design...not accessible...but too high. The room was big and looked nice. I loved the evening social hour...but with it being next to the bar, I am not sure how they could keep the bar clientele from partaking of the food. Would rather the bar have been somewhere else. And I do believe 20.00 for parking is too high. Plus...we were not given anything for being members of the reward program. I had thought we were to be given a drink token or something. SO...all in all...it has the potential to be the best hotel in downtown Cincy...but they do need to work on a few things. It was very close to the Great American Ball Park where Paul McCartney played. The bed was extremely comfortable...especially after being on our feet most of the day at the McCartney sound check and the concert and walking back and forth to the hotel. The valet was very friendly. The man making the food was great and the food was exceptional. All staff members were very friendly and helpful. The rate was rather high...probably higher than usual because of McCartney..which I might add was the most amazing concert EVER....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the time you walk in the door you feel like you are in a 5 Star hotel. You are always greeted when coming through the front door by door/valet staff and front desk personnel.

The hotel was updated in the last few years and the rooms have a lot of high-end furnishings and appliances.

When I called regarding an issue with the internet, I had a hotel tech representative at my door within 5 minutes. After determining the issues was related to the ISP, we got all ISP tech who got the entire hotel internet back to 6MB from .25MB within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#8 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,361 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,122 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cincinnati
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: £149 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing