We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five Star Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Driving up to this newly renovated downtown hotel was the first of many wonderful experiences. Fourth street is not busy in front of Lytle Park and there is plenty of space to unload - although you don't need to - the bell hops will bend over backward to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We arrived shortly before noon on our check-in (over 3 hours before regular check-in), and the front desk specially called housekeeping staff to prepare our room. The room was prepared, the bell hops had our luggage in the room and set out, before we could sit down to enjoy the well furnished lobby. A++++ service! The staff could not be more polite and attentive - even the housekeeping staff working in the halls throughout the day were exceptionally polite.

Already blown away before we got to the room, which certainly did not disappoint. High end furnishings, upscale decor, and the more comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

The location is perfect for downtown activities - 5 minute walk to ballpark, 20 to Paul Brown, 10 minutes to Fountain Square - not to mention Lytle Park and Taft Art Museum literally across the street.

Do yourself a favor, splurge and stay at this location if you are staying in Cincinnati.

Room Tip: Go for the 2-bedroom suites - they are the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrockS555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    83
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
163
13
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our one night stay at the Residence Inn in downtown Cincinnati in July was much more upscale than anticipated. The staff greeted us warmly, the room was extra clean and very spacious and overlooked a small park. We were surprised to see a very complete bar food menu, and even surprised to see a full bar. There's outdoor seating on the front porch and a charming patio with fountain in the rear. We would have parked at the hotel if we had realized how close it is to the Great American Ball Park. Valet parking is efficient and necessary. The full breakfast in the morning was hot, delicious and extra convenient. We think all hotels should include this kind of breakfast in their rates. Marriott is doing things very well at this Residence Inn.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a pretty view, but there was noise from a music concert on the Riverfront till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathieColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I admit I wasn't excited when we booked a Residence Inn in downtown Cincy as we usually stay at "fancier" hotels there, but WOW was this place lovely!! It's on a quiet street across from Lytle Park in what was originally a historic (elegant) apt. Bldg. Marriott outdid themselves in making this place a really functional and comfortable hotel.
We had a 1 bdrm suite which was super spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped inc granite countertops! The large flat screen TV in the living room was on a turntable so you could see it from the 2 person table, kitchen or desk. The bedroom also had a large flat screen. This place would be great for long-term travelers as well as families with kids (I was there for a girls' wknd).

They have a cozy bar with a nice selection of food- we opted to just stay there to eat and have cocktails. All the people working in the bar were very friendly. A gentleman named Dane created some lovely Mojitos and was nice company- very customer service oriented. They had the breakfast buffet near this area and it was excellent! Not your usual runny eggs. Great selection prepared by someone who cared it was good.
Lovely courtyard with a fountain was outside our window- totally charming.

Valet parking was only $20, a real deal in a second tier city!

Really nice fitness center, too.

I heartily recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackinacMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

You would never believe this is not a JW. Then you walk into the room and it only gets better! Very clean, comfortable and attentive staff make this one amazing. The food is also very good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights at the Residence Inn Hotel in June 2012. What a wonderful hotel. The valet service and receptionist were very friendly and helpful. The chef served a delicious complimentary dinner and breakfast. Our hotel was very nice and clean and the amenities are endless. This is one of the best hotels I have every had the pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed last weekend and thoroughly loved this hotel. Very nice and clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very nice for a weekend or extended stay. The living room/kitchen is spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfy and great for catching up on needed sleep. Walked to the Reds game in 10 minutes, strolled the park along the river. If you are in need of a downtown Cincinnati hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We recently stayed for an anniversary weekend. From the time we arrived and the bellman service, to the front desk, and the consistent Marriott customer friendly service, it is well worth the higher costs.

Advantages:
10 minute walk to the Reds ballpark
15 minute walk to the downtown Fountain Square area
A beautiful room with a huge flat screen tv, wonderful Marriott bed.
Hints:
The valet parking fee of $20 a day seems a little steep and the service to retrieve the car on the day of departure took awhile - even though there was only one other family checking out at the same time. We found out there is on the street parking, depending on what time you arrive. The area is in the Lytle Park area and would be as safe as the parking garage, in my opinion

The breakfast was good and similar to the Residence Inns that I stay in around the country. The physical size of the serving area is tight - if you can eat a little earlier there will be much less congestion.

As for a river view suite, if available. It was beautiful, looking out over the park and the Ohio River beyond.

A great restoration of a historic apartment building in Cincinnati. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing