We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome customer care”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a great experience staying in this hotel for a business trip. The location is perfect, walking distance from everything. The rooms are very spacious and the fully equipped kitchen is really great.
Awesome customer care, best staff I ever met.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my_little_snail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank for the great review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear you found our suites to be spacious and well-appointed and that our customer service was the best you have ever received! I assure you we will keep up the great work.

We look forward to your next visit to Cincinnati.

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    95
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
223
173
17
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I can't say enough good things about our stay here. Every person that worked during our stay here went the extra mile for my family. Brian in valet was wonderful. The front desk staff always welcomed us with smiles. The people who worked the breakfast area treated us like royalty . The special treats for our kids were an extra suprise. We don't travel often, but we will definitely be back to Cincinnati to visit our family. We wouldn't think about staying anywhere else. Thank you so much for making our trip to special!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. It is very exciting to hear that you had such a great experience and that you found each member of the team willing to go the extra mile. I would have to agree that Brian is exceptional and that the rest of the Front Desk/Valet and Breakfast Team are amazing as well.

We definitely look forward to you returning to stay with us again!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel is excellent in every way. The rooms are spacious, the bed is really comfortable, and the overall hotel is clean and modern. In addition to the wonderful building, the staff is really outstanding. Everyone we encountered in our two days at the hotel was friendly, helpful, and professional. They really made you feel welcome in every way and provided assistance for any need. Overall the experience was excellent, we will definitely stay there next time in Cincinnati.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review of our hotel. I am very excited to hear that you found our hotel to be excellent in every way! The entire team takes a great deal of pride in the service and product we provide for all of our guests and I can assure you we won't take our foot of the pedal!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Cincinnati!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews and were not disappointed. We were left with the impression that everyone at the hotel was actively trying to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. The rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. We found the beds really comfortable, slept very well. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja052018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service the team provided and that you found our suites to be nice and clean. We too wished that you could have stayed longer!

We look forward to your next visit to Cincinnati!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I read so many good comments about this hotel, I had to try it.

I've never been so warmly welcomed to a hotel! The valet parking was flawless, I must admit to being a bit worried about parking. The parking valets were the best I've ever seen!

The entire staff made me feel welcomed and appreciated. The suite was spotlessly clean and the maid was very efficient.

Simply put, I loved my time here and look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Try for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSgt_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you loved your time with us and that our team truly made you feel welcomed and appreciated during your stay. I will also, share the great comments about our valet with my entire valet team, they are truly and amazing group of gentlemen and do so much to create a great first impression for our hotel.

Thank you again and I look forward to your next stay with us!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is our third time staying here and every time it has been wonderful. Hubby and I just down for a night, to go to Horseshoe and Red's game the next day. Greeted outside by Valet parking, inside at reception. Very personal and willing to help us. Had a nice room, could have had a better view, but we could stay there for a long time, all are suites with full kitchen. On Tuesday evenings they have a managers toast, with cheeses, crackers, cookies. yum. They have a nice bar, the Phelps Room open till midnight, tho we did not get back in time this time to use it.
They let us keep our car there thru Wednesday afternoon while we went to the game. They have umbrellas for use in the foyer. It is super close to the stadiums and The Banks, that has some great restaurants and hang outs. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madonna_45432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the great review of the hotel. I am very happy to hear that we were able to for the third time create a great and memorable experience for you and your husband and absolutely look forward to the next stay with us!

Please feel free to reach out to me directly prior to you next stay and I would love to ensure you have a suite with a great view!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights along with our college age daughter for the Flying Pig Marathon 2013 weekend. We were astonished by how beautiful the hotel is as well as how wonderful everyone in the hotel treated us. From the moment we pulled up to the curb to the moment we walked out the door and drove away, everyone in the hotel greeted us with GENUINE kindness and smiles! I had booked a king suite but since our daughter ended up staying with us (she's a UC student and thought she might stay at her campus house, but when she saw the beautiful accommodations, she had a quick change of heart), we decided once we entered the room, due to our visit and needing a good nights rest to race the next day, we would need two queens. We called down to the desk and they immediately found us a 2 bedroom with 2 Kings and brought us up our new keys!! I was so thrilled not to have to sleep in a queen with my hubby because hotel queen beds feel like twin beds especially when you are exhausted....Plus added bonus, our daughter got her own bedroom and bath!! We could of stayed here for at least a week, if not longer!! The rooms are very clean and comfortable which was so wonderful for a great nights sleep prior to our big race day and afterwards exhausted!! The entire staff was welcoming and kind...they encouraged us as we left for the race, praised us as we returned, and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome! I can't say enough about every employee. The valet parking was so speedy, I think they could of won the marathon! The location is perfect and our walk was a perfect quick warmup for our race! The only issue was the front desk at check in told us breakfast buffet didn't open until 7 either Saturday or Sunday. They did have water, coffee, fruit, bagels and yogurt bright and early Sunday AND Saturday they did have the entire breakfast open stocked full hot ready to eat by 7am for us...I just wish I would of went a few minutes earlier as I'm sure they had things ready...instead we rushed and ate real quickly on our way out the door! All in all....food was great....NO complaints at all! The best hotel experience....and my husband travels on business quite often! We've stayed at several upscale hotels and The Residence Inn Cincy outshines them with their true hospitality, kindness and accommodations!
Thank you so very much for a wonderful birthday/marathon weekend! I tried to book for next years race just now, but the web site only books thru April 2014!! Will check back next month!! See y'all maybe sooner...I hope!! :)

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet...we felt as if we had the hotel to ourselves! Room 407!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHHey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel. We are ecstatic to hear that you not only enjoyed the spacious two bedroom suite but that you found our entire hotel team to kind and welcoming. We truly look to create a unique and memorable experience for each and every guest and I am very excited to hear that we were able to accomplish that.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014 for the next Flying Pig Marathon if not sooner!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
995 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,218 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing