We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe it our not: for us it is the best stake in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony's Of Cincinnati

Tony's Of Cincinnati
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Of Cincinnati is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fields Ertel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Believe it our not: for us it is the best stake in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and i go to Toni's on a regular basis. Basically whenever we feel like a great piece of meat. For us it is the best NY strip and filet Mignon in Cincinnati. We know that here every one talks about Jeff Rubbies and te Presict but for us there is no doubt: Toni's beats them everytime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    31
    19
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, wine, and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Overall a great experience here. I had the salmon and my friend had the sea bass. Both seafood entrees were delicious and the Brussel sprouts were a killer side dish! Our server (Jay) was very attentive and took wonderful care of us. The first wine I selected came to the table and was not the vintage listed on the menu so I wanted to pick a different one. The manager, David, was able to recommend another one that we may like so we trusted his judgement and we were pleased. My only negative comment here is that the wine is substantially over priced. The wine list is good but very pricey. I would definitely recommend Tony's for business or pleasure. Great food, excellent service, and employees that want to please the customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times but the calendar led us here 3 times in 5 weeks. No complaints at all. Every visit was different but amazing. Happy hour at the bar is a great weeknight treat. Fun food menu is super and prices are nice. Main dining room with friends or a date night is always top notch. Live music on weekends is so fun. Everyone on the floor makes you feel like you are their only concern. We will be back again and again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“first time - good, not great, experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently dined at Tony's on a Tuesday evening for our anniversay (which was noted at the time we made our reservation on Open Table). We arrived a bit early so we had a drink at the bar and noted that almost everyone in the bar area was having a meal; and everyone was in a great mood.
When decided to be seated, we took our drinks with us (we had about 1/2 drink remaining in our cocktail glasses). The hostess seated us and we sat and waited to be noticed and given our menus; we waited for about 12 minutes and finally asked one of the bussers about our waiter; we said we didn't know who he/she was. Our waiter promptly came over and somewhat haughtily apologized saying that when he saw that we had drinks, he thought someone else was taking care of us, yet he admitted he didn't check it out. He noticed that his comment/explanation didn't sit to well with us, and he stumbled some and quickly dropped his somewhat arrogant tone. He told us that he would provide a dessert for us to share as his way of making things right. We didn't respond and simply took the menus. My husband was not pleased with his explanation or his attempt to resolve the problem. We decided that we wanted to focus on our celebration so we checked out both the food and wine menus. We were anxious to try their steaks as we love a good steak; we grill them often and pride ourselves in duplicating a steak worthy of a great Steakhouse experience. We also like to dine out at great Steakhouses, both in Cincinnati and during our travels. Jeff Ruby's restaurants (especially the Precinct) do Cincinnati proud and we have for years celebrated our anniversary with them; not only do we enjoy the food but also the service and attention paid to "special occasion" diners. However, this year, because of friend's recommendation, we decided to dine at Tony's. Happily, our meal did not disappoint. I had one of the best Greek salad's I have ever had and my filet was cooked just right. My husband likes filet tenderloin but his favorite is a NY Strip; he has not ordered one in recent years at any of the Ruby's because he felt the steaks weren't trimmed well and weren't as good we could actually cook at home. After talking with our server, he decided to order the strip steak and he said it was "fabulous" - well trimmed, seasoned and very tender. We had a nice bottle of wine and enjoyed our meal. After dinner we were too full for dessert, so our server boxed up a slice of cheesecake for us to take home. The cheesecake was very plain - no sauce or fruit and just average in taste.
Sadly our anniversary was never acknowledged by anyone - except by the hostess who yelled "Happy Anniversary" as we walking out the door!! I would think that a place like Tony's would cater to "special occasion" diners. Tony did stop by our table while we were dining; we chose not to tell him of our waiters blunder as we didn't want to ruin our celebration.
For a Tuesday evening, the restaurant was very busy; all the servers and bussers were kept moving!
One last mention - the wine we ordered was 40 dollars a bottle; a week later at another very nice restaurant (in another town), we got the same wine for 23 dollars a bottle. Retail we can purchase the wine for $13 -15 dollars a bottle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank twototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“discovered steak nirvana- not for Vegans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our first time at Tony's and we are so very impressed. At times we crave a good cut of red meat...and we judge all the steak places in Cincinnati(and in our travels in USA) by the standard of Jeff Ruby's steak houses( the best in service and foodie experience), so going to Tony's we anticipated excellent steaks due to Tony Ricci's long association with Ruby. It was a wonderful dining experience! A good first impression was decor of dark wood and stone, electic art on walls, then continued at bar with drinks( with an original made specially for one of us), where the bartender was personable and attentive to our enjoyment. Our dining service was also outstanding with almost instantaneous refills in drinks and bread(sourdough- yum). Steaks were done perfectly, as expected, rare+ and rare, the cuts had a rub of 5 world salts and some "secret" spices...not overwhelming but enhancing the taste of meat. $41 for a superb 12 oz filet is very reasonable. Wine list good selection, also variety of ryes and scotches pleased us too. Steak toppings and sides were usual steakhouse fair, did add to cost but this is typical. Music combo started later in evening and we liked that accoustics handled noise level- easy to converse. Tony is meeting and greeting and doing quality checks throughout the night...shows how much he demands of this restaurant with his name on the marquee. We like the location- closer than drive to downtown steak places- and we think Tony should be proud of his branding this restaurant. It is outstanding dining for those who love a fine steakhouse experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Of Cincinnati also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing