We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Performers, but Disappointed with Recent Red, White & Boom”

Cincinnati Pops Orchestra
Attraction details
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Performers, but Disappointed with Recent Red, White & Boom”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are a frequent patron of the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra and they provide great performances to their audiences. However, we attended their "Red, White and Boom" concert on 4th of July at Riverbend and was disappointed with the lack of patriotic music played. While the guests violinists and vocalist were good,, we would have enjoyed more patriotic music and less of the "bluegrass" themed music for such a patriotic holiday. Also, the military medley would have been better done in the 1st half of the performance so that as our military members (past and present) that stood up as their song was played could be more easily recognized and honored. We look forward to a more patriotic themed program next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Pops orchestra in the US”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Holding forth in the gorgeous old Music Hall, John Russel Morris has maintained the high standards of quality and showmanship people in Cincinnati expect. I have never been disappointed in a show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pixar Music & Cincinnati Pops - Whats not to LOVE!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My Daughter took me to see the Cincinnati Pops Perform Pixar Music. It was AMAZINGLY goooood! They had Visuals of the Pixar Movies on the screen behind the Pops which made it even more enjoyable.

They Sounded Great! I left there thinking, I am so glad I got to come and would of hated to miss it. If I lived in Cincy, I would buy a Subscription.

If your in town, try to catch a performance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!!! What an Independence Day...”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We've not experienced the Cincinnati Pops before, but you can bet we'll be in their audience in the future. Conductor John Morris Russell is excellent. You can see he's having fun as he directs this skilled group of musicians. A full compliment of patriotic music with Adrienne Dandrich adding with vocal punch. It is hard to image that Pops Goes the 4th in Boston was as much fun!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent orchestra... But the conductor!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Both the CSO and the Pops are high quality orchestras with skilled musicians playing in a beautiful and classic setting. I've attended regularly for over 20 years and find it for the most part quite enjoyable. However, the new Pops conductor, John Russell is a showman and clown more concerned with his own cuteness and "brand" ( he is now JMR with a silly, smirking logo) than he is with leading the orchestra. The late Erich Kunzel, while an accomplished musician, also fell into this trap of self aggrandizement, and transformed an evening of music into a three ring circus. I hoped once Mr. Russell took the baton he would be more of a John Williams or Arthur Fiedler than Maestro Kunzel was. But Russell's stage antics, the new "red fence" and all of the other distractions are just that - distractions. The Pops is less formal than the CSO certainly, but the frivolous and showmanship is unbecoming of the orchestra. It is disrespectful of the audience and the musicians as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cincinnati Pops Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Pops Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing