We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best little theatre in Ohio.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park

Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
Ranked #38 of 174 things to do in Cincinnati
Attraction details
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best little theatre in Ohio.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This Tony award wining theatre yearly presents a variety of work ranging from Dicken's Christmas Carol, the music of Johnny Cash, and new works by Christopher Durang. Always superbly acted, I have enjoyed their work for over 50 years. There are two theatre houses, so be sure to see something in both during a season. There are season ticket specials also.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peru-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local Theater Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've been subscribers to the Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park for many years due to its consistently high quality theater productions. Each season blends interesting new works with fresh productions of historic favorites. The Marx theater is used for larger productions affording more complicated sets, but all the seats are good. The Shelterhouse Theater offers a more intimate experience which we also enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Life is a Caberet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a great find! Easy parking, easy to get in and out after the show. This was my first time to this play house, I thought it would be hard to find, get in and out....Man was I wrong. They offer some food, and drinks. I don't think there is a bad seat in the entire place. Very nice

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the best regional theater in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

It has won the Tony twice for that award. Since then, the Artistic Director has changed but the high quality and variety of plays is still up to that high standard.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“North Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Riveting. One of the bet plays of the year. From the opening lines you are locked in to the action of two outstanding actors who take you on a journey tapping into each of your emotions. Only there for one more week do not miss this one.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChefOne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing