We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BAR!!! Not A Restaurant !”
Review of Japp's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Japp's
Ranked #483 of 1,979 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great BAR!!! Not A Restaurant !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have longed to try Japps for months! I have read about it in several publications. I followed all the advice .. went on a Tuesday and went early. In fact - my friend and I showed up right at opening time! My only disappointment was that they serve no food. BUT .. Dave the mixologist behind the bar that night said it was A - OK to bring food in. So my buddy and I went 2 doors down and got some hoagies and brought them back. We seated ourselves at the bar of course!!! Dave inquired about what I like to drink and I gave him permission to "surprise me"! And I loved his special cocktail made just for me .. in fact I had 2 of them !! He did the same for my friend too. The atmosphere is fun, funky and vintage. I loved all the original light fixtures and signs etc. Japps truely is a gem and if I lived in the neighborhood - Im sure Id be a regular! Great prices too !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Fun place for a night on the town”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This place was very popular on a Saturday night. It has a great 1920’s vibe in the décor. For a bar, there was plenty of seating which is always welcomed when you are in high heels. You can go here casual or business casual. The smoking area is tiny so beware if your group smokes a lot. Good place for casual drinks and conversations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere in Cinci!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently went to Japp's for the first time and was absolutely thrilled I did so.
The atmosphere is different in comparison to the majority of the neighboring establishments in the area which is what I look for when traveling to a different city.
Great drink, and the music selection was superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMacQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Martini/cocktail (like we call in in Europe) place in Cinci”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Here is an other of my best off reviews. If you are into cocktails and especially very goof ones go to Japp's. All their staff are super expert "mixologists" and will male you the best cocktail ever. Please do me (and them) a favor and don' t ask for the standard stuff. Just tell them what you like and let them create. My advice is go early i.e. before 9pm so you get all the attention you deserve, the place gets crowded with kids i.e. 21 year olds later around 11pm. Enjoy, you wont regret it.
PS. They have a live jazz band friday from 6 to 8 it is great too!

Helpful?
Thank SwissTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A unique place for after dinner drinks and dance”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This bar and connected dance hall are a unique retro spot in Cincinnati where a crowd of all ages can really have fun and have a lounge style cocktail evening or go next door for some retro dance music. The staff are talented and professional mixologists who can suggest a drink based on the mood and preference of drink you tell them. The decor is beautiful since it has retained the antique furniture from the original wig salon it used to be, like an old apothecary style. It is the new "in" place in over the Rhine district.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrscatalano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japp's also viewed

 

Been to Japp's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing