We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must-See" in Cincinnati”

American Sign Museum
Ranked #7 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A "Must-See" in Cincinnati”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my time at the American Sign Museum. First of all, make sure to take the guided tour. The founder is a pretty good presenter and really knows his stuff- he makes the place come to life. The tour starts with a little history and establishing facts about signs as well as his background and qualifications. This introduction really puts things in perspective and helps you appreciate the signs on display. All in all, the tour went just over an hour- he is great with answering questions concisely and wrangling niche questions and special interests until the end. So happy they have a new location, better hours, and more signs on display!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    119
    30
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of signs”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed this museum of a different type. It did a good job of explaining evolving sign types through America's history. We kept wondering while we were there, with all of these flashing incandescent, florescent and neon lights, what an annual power bill looks like. They have 2 guided tours daily that we missed the time window of. It would be worth looking into trying to get into this group.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Go-foreign L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“This museum is a gem and Cincinnati is lucky to have it”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a comprehensive work in progress like no other...saving history, graphics, processes...memories. Support the museum...pass the word!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizzzzzzzzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
241 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Boring and Pricey Museum”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I must have been to a different museum than everyone else! I cannot recommend this museum to anyone. It was such the rip off. For $30 ($15/person), my husband and I spent less than 15 minutes going into the three to four rooms of signs. I just cannot figure out why everyone is recommending this. It's just 4 rooms with as many neon signs they could force into it. Do not waste your money here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The American Sign Museum may be one-of-a-kind, which makes it all the more special. You will see signs that evoke memories from your childhood: Rexall, Mail Pouch Tobacco, Burma Shave... When calling for reservations, be sure to get the guided tour. Todd, the owner/developer of the museum is the tour guide (99% of the time according to the lady at the desk). Todd will show you how a whole rainbow of colors can be produced with neon and argon gases. He will point out details on the "Big Boy" statue that will make you study the statue more closely the next time you stop at a Big Boy Restaurant. If you get there at the right time, Todd can get you into the shop where craftsmen bend glass tubing into neon signs. Free parking, discounted tickets for seniors and AAA members.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing