We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restoration of a neglected city park.”
Review of Washington Park

Washington Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
The Nati in a Nutshell Cincinnati Food Tour Including Carew Tower Entrance Fee
Ranked #26 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Chester, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice restoration of a neglected city park.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife & I were here with friends for an event called Luminocity. The event which began at 8:30 in the evening featured performances by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, The Cincinnati Ballet's second company, the Cincinnati Opera, and young dancers and musicians from a couple of different programs. The evening was capped off with a laser light show accompanied by the Symphony, projected on the facade of historic Music Hall which is located directly across from the park. The entertainment was all excellent. The setting is very pretty.

There were food booths, and craft booths next to the event area, in which to pass some time before the performance.

But, it is a hassle to have to arrive four or five hours before the performance in order to ensure a place to sit. Admission was limited by distribution of tickets in advance of the event. The tickets were free; but limited in number. All seating was "carry your own" (in other words, bring your own lawn chair). Twelve thousand people with lawn chairs, vying for the best vantage point is not great fun (at least, for me). If anyone has a good idea on a better way to conduct this type of event, please pass that info along to the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra.

For me, it was worth doing once. But, I can't say that I would be willing to invest that much of my time to see a similar performance again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAS-PGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    61
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice city park”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This park is pretty. You only need to spend about 10 minutes there, unless you have kids who want to splash in the fountains or a picnic to eat. It's nice and well-kept. It is surrounded by a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. We were happy to find free parking a block over, but turns out it was a bit of a scary walk from our car to the park. I wouldn't recommend parking very far away after dark. Take a cab since it's safer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kkg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restoration”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This park is beautiful. What a renovation for an area which was declared total unsafe. It is, of course, a brand new park which makes it more impressive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very fun park!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This park is amazing! There is a playground for the kids, plenty of parking underneath, and always something going on. I took my 9 year old son down there this morning, there was some type of festival going on with food vendors and entertainment. We loved it. He played and we had lunch. The park itself is in a rough neighborhood, but as long as you just stay in the park itself, you are very safe. I would highly recommend visiting it, you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AH_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a cool place to hang out on the weekends!! My family and I hung out there over 4th of July weekend, there were food trucks out there, great music, great family environment and only $5 dollars to park in their garage which is right under their park. I would recommend this park to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing